this Search won't find everything.
But it might find what you want
check the main index also
88 items found
- Progress in Pictures Page 4 | bartletthistory
Renovation Gallery page 4 2016: One of the first projects was to do something with the leaky roof. Bill Duggan had a temporary solution. Photos Page 1 Photos Page 2 Photos Page 3 Photos Page 4 Photos Page 5 Photos Page 6 2020: As the donations flowed in we finally had money for a more permanent solution. August 16, 2020: Roof trusses completed. Photos Page 1 Photos Page 2 Photos Page 3 Photos Page 4 Photos Page 5 Photos Page 6 Intro to Your Museum Church - Early History Coming Attractions Museum Budget Museum Floor Plan Progress in Pictures Museum Gifting Levels How to Donate Museum Donor Form
- Budget Museum | bartletthistory
Museum Budget Intro to Your Museum Church - Early History Coming Attractions Museum Budget Museum Floor Plan Progress in Pictures Museum Gifting Levels How to Donate Museum Donor Form Below you will find two budgets. The first one shows how donations have been spent on the project thus far. The second one shows the work that still needs to be accomplished. Your help is critical to our success. Updated April 2022 We know...you can't see it very well. Click on the zoom view under the blue box. Click the + Zoom here Cormorant Garamond is a classic font with a modern twist. It's easy to read on screens of every shape and size, and perfect for long blocks of text. MmAGAZINE TITLE PO Box 514 - Bartlett, NH 03812
- Museum Gift Levels | bartletthistory
Museum Gifting Levels Intro to Your Museum Church - Early History Coming Attractions Museum Budget Museum Floor Plan Progress in Pictures Museum Gifting Levels How to Donate Museum Donor Form PO Box 514 - Bartlett, NH 03812 d
- Church History | bartletthistory
Church - Early History Intro to Your Museum Church - Early History Coming Attractions Museum Budget Museum Floor Plan Progress in Pictures Museum Gifting Levels How to Donate Museum Donor Form A Detailed History of the St. Josephs Catholic Church in Bartlett, NH --The Beginning -- Assembled by Phil Franklin Bartlett Historical Society, Board of Directors December 2016 Cormorant Garamond is a classic font with a modern twist. It's easy to read on screens of every shape and size, and perfect for long blocks of text. Mission While we have been very focused on the project to transform St. Joseph Church into the Bartlett Historical Society Museum, we have also been working to assemble the history of the church. To do this, we have had to rely on different sources of information (i.e. people and documents) as we have found that there is no one source for this history. Also, in doing the historical research, we have identified some discrepancies in things such as dates for events and there are gaps in the history as we cannot seem to locate any documentation about the history for the majority of the 1900’s. To the best of our efforts, we have tried to clarify the discrepancies as either typographical errors or in some cases interpretation of handwriting from the 1880’s and 1890’s which was not always clear. The bottom line is that this history is a work in progress and we welcome any help from people in the community with documents, pictures or recollections. This article will focus on the beginning years of the church – 1888 - 1891. Sources for this information include: * “Bartlett, New Hampshire … in the valley of the Saco” by Aileen M. Carroll, Phoenix Publishing, 1990 * Correspondence from Father J. N. Plante to Bishop Dennis Bradley from 1888 – 1891 copied from the archives at the Offices of the Diocese of Manchester as well as other documents from the Diocese * Correspondence from Littleton Savings Bank, June 16, 1890 An Idea for a Church is Born From 1856 to 1888, the Catholic community in Bartlett was organized as a mission of the All Saints Church in Lancaster, NH. From 1888 to July 14, 1902, the affiliation of the Bartlett Catholic community fell under the mission of St. Matthew’s Church in Whitefield, NH. During these years, it appears that the Catholic community in Bartlett and the surrounding towns was growing. This is where Father J. N. Plante of St. Matthew’s Church enters into the picture. The idea for a Catholic church in Bartlett started out of a need seen by Father Plante while he was stationed at St. Matthew’s Church. Before there was a church in Bartlett, people from this area needed to travel to Whitefield for services, the sacraments and any other spiritual needs. Remember, travel in those days was only by rail, horse, horse and buggy or, in the winter, sled so it was quite a journey to get to Whitefield. In a letter to Bishop Dennis Bradley on May 17, 1888, Father Plante wrote of several St. Matthew’s church related items (on St. Matthew’s letterhead) and at the very end of the letter, almost as a footnote, added, “I shall write to you soon concerning the building of a Chapel to Bartlett this summer.” We presume that the reference to “this summer” is when Father Plante intended to write more about his idea for the Bartlett church not that he planned to build in the summer of 1888. In a follow up letter to the Bishop dated November 22, 1888, Father Plante again mentions the Bartlett church writing, “I am glad to let you know that I have bought a church lot over to Bartlett. The payment thereon shall be made some time in January next and a Warranty Deed shall be made to your name.” At this point, the ground work was laid for the new Catholic Church in Bartlett. Land Acquisition, Financing and Initiation of Construction Records go on to show that the closing for the land did not occur until May 13, 1889. On that date, Emily A. Meserve sold a parcel of land on Carrigan Street to “Rev. D. M. Bradley” for a sum of $125.00. The land totaled “twelve thousand five hundred square feet more or less.” The lot dimension were 125’ x 100’. Carrigan Street is now known as School Street in Upper Bartlett or Bartlett Village. Plans for building the church were in motion but no documentation has been found to describe the steps being taken until a letter, again on St. Matthew’s Church letterhead, dated June 20, 1890 outlines a series of steps taken and concerns raised. We know from other documents that the actual construction started with the digging of the foundation hole on May 15, 1890 and that the stone work for the foundation was completed on June 1, 1890. Father Plante’s June 20th letter to Bishop Bradley reveals several things. First, he tells the Bishop that he “gave out the job of the stone work to a man from Berlin Falls. His name is Louis Rodrique.” The letter goes on to say that Mr. Rodrique was contracted to build a “good stone wall three feet in the ground and 1½ above - built with good land and lime and cement mortar … the thickness of the wall will be 2½ feet.” This contract for the foundation was written for $325.00 and the dimension of the church based on the foundation size will be 36’ x 58’. Father Plante continues in the June 20th letter by turning his attention to the money needed for the building. He says that he can raise the money to pay for the “wall” (foundation) but cannot go on further this year without help from the Bishop. The “help” requested is in the form of having the Bishop provide backing for loans that Father Plante was securing for the building effort. In the next paragraph in this letter, Father Plante outlines his plans for borrowing the money needed for construction. He mentions two sources of money. First, he notes a man in Whitefield who is known to the Bishop. He identifies this man as John O’Neal. Father Plante feels that Mr. O’Neal “could accommodate us very well with $1200 or $1500 and would take your note for security.” The second source of money is the Littleton Savings Bank. A letter from Mr. O.C. Hatch at the Littleton Savings Bank dated June 16, 1890 concludes with the statement “we can furnish the money, 1,000 $ [sic] or 1,500 as you prefer. They [bank directors] will waive the rule that we have if the Bishop makes the [unreadable word].” As a side note, the Littleton Historical Society, Curator Dick Alberini identified Mr. Hatch as Oscar Cutler Hatch, born in Newbury, VT on November 11, 1848; Mr. Hatch’s occupation was listed as “Banker” among other civic titles. Back to Father Plante’s borrowing - A note on a statement listing construction costs shows that the bank note was written for $1,300. With his financial “burden” (referencing the money) presumably secured, Father Plante awarded the construction job to a “Mr. Dana.” In the same June 20th letter, Father Plante also outlines the start of his plan to pay for the building. He says that he plans to hold a “fair in the building as soon as the frame be up, boarded and shingled.” He concludes this information packed letter by writing “The families are few in number in Bartlett, but still in their number and poverty, I believe that they can pay in time for their church.” From this one letter we learn a great deal about the character of Father Plante and his determination to build this church. A letter on August 1, 1890 from Father Plante to Bishop Bradley reveals that there must have been some discussion about using Mr. Dana for the building work versus two other men from Berlin Falls. In this letter, which provides some detail on the construction materials to be used, Father Plante states that Mr. Dana has provided an estimate of $3,300 for the building cost. The other men, identified only as “Turgeon and Biland,” provided a similar but slightly lower cost estimate ($300 less). While we do not have any documentation that provides a final statement of the contractor who was awarded the work, Father Plante writes very favorably about Mr. Dana so we will presume that Mr. Dana continued as the contractor. We will continue to look for evidence of who actually built the church. Building Completion and the Bishop’s Blessing We do not have any documentation of the actual construction but from the dates by which the construction was started to the point at which the first mass was celebrated, the building process must have been an all-out effort. The first mass was celebrated on November 9, 1890, making the construction effort a mere 179 days from start to finish. At that first mass, the choir from Whitefield sang the hymns. In yet another letter to Bishop Bradley dated October 2, 1890, Father Plante invites the Bishop to Bartlett writing “I wish you would come over sometime in October to see the beautiful little church of Bartlett. St. Joseph has granted our prayers for now the church is standing and shall be soon ready for worship.” (The reference to St. Joseph is presumed to be because Joseph, the father of Jesus, was a carpenter.) Bishop Bradley finally came to the church on August 30, 1891 to bless the building and officiate at the first communion of seven children plus 20 confirmations and one faith conversion where Thomas Colbath of Albany was baptized. As it was opened, St. Joseph was the first Catholic Church in the Mount Washington Valley. The church served the spiritual needs of people from Upper Bartlett plus Livermore, Redstone and Intervale. This was a regional church in its early years. St. Joseph Church was originally named Sacred Heart Church but in 1937, the name was changed to St. Joseph. We have not found why this name change occurred but a reference in the diary of Bishop Bradley dated August 30, 1891 states that he “dedicated the church to St. Joseph.” Completion Cost With all of Father Plante’s concerns about money, the church was built for the total sum of $2,732.28. The largest expense was the carpentry with a price of $1,725.28. The total cost included the lot, construction costs, furnishings, three years of insurance and loan interest. In the first year of the church’s life, the parishioners raised $1,253 toward payment of this debt through concerts, suppers and a fair. Observations about Father Plante Obviously, Father J. N. Plante played a central and critical role in the building of St. Joseph Church and the formation of the Catholic community in the area. While we have not discovered any biographical information about Father Plante, we can deduce something of his character from his letters to the Bishop. For example, Father Plante seems to have been one who acted without necessarily getting permission. We reach this conclusion by his 1888 and 1890 letters where he tells the Bishop of progress and his intentions relating to the building of the church rather than asking permission. In other letters in 1891, Father Plante makes two separate references to a troubling illness that has overtaken him. In a letter dated May 21, 1891, he writes to the Bishop reminding him that he had written earlier saying that he could not attend a conference sponsored by the Bishop and was expressing his dismay saying to the Bishop “I am sorry that to see that you have condemned me by not replying.” He later blames his illness on “the hardship of the mission.” In another letter on September 3, 1891, Father Plante again makes a direct appeal to the Bishop for support from two other priests because he is too sick to attend to his duties. He writes “I have seen already three physicians and they all agree in saying that unless I have complete rest, my health would be injured for life.” In this letter, he requests a three week vacation to recuperate. We have not found any follow up reference to his recovery or otherwise but again, we’ll keep looking. On another topic, Father Plante makes reference in his September 3rd letter to a “piece of land I own in Bartlett.” He describes land which is now the soccer field and school park between the church and railroad tracks and says that he has an offer of $225 for this property that he is contemplating selling. Finally, again, a reference from the Bishops diary on August 31, 1891 shows the Bishops private admiration for Father Plante as he writes “He is a most excellent priest.” Summary and A Request for Your Help We now have some detail on the beginnings of St. Joseph Church. The research we’ve done on the church has shown that there are many gaps in the documentation that we have uncovered so far. We will continue our search for records through the Diocese of Manchester and possibly through Our Lady of the Mountains but we could use the help of anyone who has knowledge of the history of St. Joseph Church. Below are some things we would like to know: * Were there maintenance records kept and, if so, where are they now? * Pictures of the church show a bell tower as recently as the 1960’s but in the 1990 Centennial picture the tower is gone. When was it removed, why and where is the bell? * Pictures of the church from the early 1900’s show a tall structure attached to the back of the church. From reading some other documentation, a passing reference is made to a priest’s apartment in the church but that reference is not identified as the tall structure; does anyone know what this structure was and when and why it was removed? * Does anyone have pictures of the interior of the church prior to Vatican II when the altar was moved from facing away from the congregation to facing toward the congregation? If you have them, can we please borrow them to scan into a computer or are you willing to donate them? * Was there ever a renovation done to the church? In an earlier picture, we see a dormer on the north side of the church near the back of the building. That dormer is gone now but, again, we would like to know why it was there (possible for the priest’s apartment?) and when it was removed. As we learn more about the history of St. Joseph Church, we will add to this narrative and publish new information on the history of this historic building. PO Box 514 - Bartlett, NH 03812
- Bartlett History | United States | Bartlett Nh History
Museum Floor Plan Intro to Your Museum Church - Early History Coming Attractions Museum Budget Museum Floor Plan Progress in Pictures Museum Gifting Levels How to Donate Museum Donor Form Click the + Zoom here We know...you can't see it very well. Click on the zoom + under the blue box. PO Box 514 - Bartlett, NH 03812
- historical society | membershio | contact| Bartlett nh
Officers & Directors Philip Franklin, President 603 374 5023 Hannalore Chandler, Vice President Peg Fish, Secretary Sue Franklin, Treasurer Kathleen Howard, Curator Scotty Mallett, Director One Open Director Positions Available BoD Advisory Committee Norman Head, Advisor 986 6278 Dave Eliason, Web Site Editor Mike Chandler, General Support Annette Libby, BHS & Campaign Events Sue Chula - Recording Secretary Anne Pillion, Campaign Fund Raising Scotty Mallett, Railroad Historian Hadley Champlin Do You Have a question or Comment? Just Ask... SEND YOUR MESSAGE THANKS. MESSAGE SENT. Sign Our Guestbook I Just Want to Look at the Guestbook Send Thanks! Message sent. Share Bartlett History Do YOU have an interest in any facet of Bartlett History? Contact any person named above or send in the "contact form" and we can talk about it.
- Donor Form VCC | bartletthistory
Museum Donor Form Intro to Your Museum Church - Early History Coming Attractions Museum Budget Museum Floor Plan Progress in Pictures Museum Gifting Levels How to Donate Museum Donor Form Thank You We Sincerely thank you for considering a donation to what will be YOUR Historical Museum. Click the link below to view and print the PDF form. OR click the other link to charge it to a credit card. View & Print the Donor Form Charge it to my Credit Card No Amount is too small. Many small donations add up to substantial amounts. Your support is important to us. PO Box 514 - Bartlett, NH 03812
- Membership-Join-Renew | bartlett nh history society
It's Time To Join or Renew Your Membership for 2022 Click the Link Below, Print the Form, Drop in the Mail Join Or Renew Membership Skip the Printing and Mailing; Put It on Your Credit Card Charge my Credit Card Share this page with friends Please become a member in 2022. You can join with only a $20 contribution. Just click the green box above for a simple form you can print and mail to us OR Put it on your credit card.
- Index - find what you need | bartlett nh history
Find what you need quickly in our extensive index Choose Your Drawer - One Click and You're There Links opens in a new window I J K L E F G H V W X Y Z Q R S T U A B C D M N O P If all our data was on paper this file cabinet would be overflowing... Link to our INDEX
- videos | bartletthistory
Our Video Collection Peter Limmer Tells His Story
- Pledge Instructions | bartletthistory
How to Donate Intro to Your Museum Church - Early History Coming Attractions Museum Budget Museum Floor Plan Progress in Pictures Museum Gifting Levels How to Donate Museum Donor Form View & Print the Donor Form Charge it on Your Credit Card PO Box 514 - Bartlett, NH 03812
The very early settlers of bartlett 1780 - 1800 The French and Indian Wars fought in the 1700's and skirmishes with the British during this time were not of great global importance but they did set the stage for war heroes to obtain vast tracts of land as reward for their services to their various governments. Such were the times from 1765 to 1775 when then Governors Benning Wentworth and John Wentworth granted a combined 14,000 acres to Colonel Andrew McMillan, Captain William Stark, Lt Vere Royce, Adj Philip Bayley, Major James Gray, and Robert Furniss of the Royal Navy. Most of those who received such grants rarely settled on the land themselves. In 1790 this land became the Town of Bartlett. Most of these grantees had little interest in their land with the exception of William Stark who offered land to anyone who would come and settle. One might wonder if they considered their bequests as a "booby-prize" being isolated and uninhabited lands and nary a Pub for 70 miles ? (editors comment only.) Thus, around 1775 , arrived brothers Enoch and Humphrey Emery along with Nathaniel Harriman. They settled in today's Jericho and their descendants live there to this day. John and Martha Pendexter arrived in the winter of 1776 and settled in the Intervale area and in 1777 came Daniel Fox, Paul Jilly and Captain Samuel Willey who all settled in the upper Bartlett area. Richard Garland came to Bartlett in 1783. A man of considerable stamina, he lived in the Hall Neighborhood near today's Sky Valley about a mile east of the Village. Joseph and Alice Pitman first settled in Harts Location and later moved to Bartlett. Alice is Martha Pendexter's sister. Jonathan Tasker, a revolutionary soldier arrived in Bartlett about 1789. Brothers, Obed and Ebenezer Hall, came from Madbury NH about 1788 and farmed in Upper Bartlett as well as operating a "house of entertainment" in the Village. By June 1790 Bartlett had become an Incorporated town. We today might have a hard time comprehending how difficult it was for our forbears to settle in an untamed wilderness. One may also wonder what thoughts motivated them to move from the relative comforts of southern New Hampshire to an area that offered little except isolation and hardship. They faced the perils of isolation , the fear of Indian raids, the ravages of wild beasts, the wrath of the rapid mountain torrents, the obstacles to communication which the vast wilderness interposed, — every form of discomfort and danger was apparently protection for these grand mountains as impassable barriers to intrusion and occupation. One man once went eighty miles on foot through the woods to a lower settlement for a bushel of salt, the scarcity of which had produced sickness and suffering, and returned with it on his back. Several of the earliest settlers lived for years without any neighbors for miles . One man was obliged to go ten miles to a mill, and would carry a bushel of corn on his shoulder, and take it back in meal. But often these brave men did not even have the corn to be ground : they were threatened with famine, and were obliged to send deputations thirty, fifty, and sixty miles to purchase grain. These families were tried by the freshets that tore up the rude bridges, swept off their barns, and even floated their houses on the meadows. On the Saco intervale, in the year 1800, a heavy rain swelled the river so that it destroyed every cabin and shed that had been built on it. They suffered much from the inadequate legislation of those early times, and their patience was often tried to the utmost, when they sent petition alter petition to the legislature without receiving an answer until years had passed. But these hardships, privations, and sufferings did not dwarf their intellects or diminish their physical powers, and a good character of solidity, intelligence, and industry has ever been connected with the inhabitants of this county. Men distinguished in the domains of law, literature, medicine, and science, with just pride, point to Carroll County as the place of their birth, while the county with equal pride claims them as her sons. Early Settlers Stillings - Garland - Chubbick Emery - Pitman Hall - Pendexter - Tasker - Seavey George - Gilly - Fox - Willey 1793 prominent citizens of Bartlett These Men, and the women who may have accompanied them, might be considered the founders of the Town of Bartlett. The names include: Richard Garland, Enoch Emery, Joseph Hall, Obed Hall, Levi Seavey, Samuel Seavey, Simon Seavey , John Scribner, Jonathan Seavey, James Rogers, Jonathan Place, isick Stanton. James Baset, Samuel Fall, Peter and Nicholas Stillings, Jonathan Tasker, John weeks, Jonathan Hutchins, John wooster, Humphrey Emery, John Pendexter, Joseph Pitman, Levi Chubbuck, george woodes, Thomas Spring, Timothy Walker. Joseph Pinkham, Joseph D. Pinkham. There were others whose lives did not include exceptional traits that would have made them memorable, and like the majority of people, their names are soon forgotten. In the 1780's there were less than 5 non Indian people residing in what is now Bartlett. Fifty years later in 1830 the population had grown to only 644 and to about 775 by 1860. It has taken another 159 years to reach our 2019 population of perhaps 3000 people. This low growth rate, at least by today's standards, demonstrates that only the adventuresome choose to live in this desolate wilderness. Early bridges were no match for raging rivers Details about some of The early pioneers of the 1790's Stillings 1796: Peter Stillings came to Bartlett in 1796 and settled in the extreme upper edge of Town on about 200 acres of land which included all of the land now occupied by Garland's Mountain Home Cabins as well as property on the north side of present day Rte 302. This land extended to the Town line of todays Harts Location and included Sawyers Rock. The land extended to include both sides of the Saco River. Peter's deed was given by George Hart. Later he sold half his land to his son, Samuel. Peter was married to Elizabeth Tuttle in 1770. They had four children, Nicholas in 1773, Peter Jr in 1774, Hannah in 1776 and Samuel in 1780. Samuel Born in March of 1780 . Samuel Stillings, the son of Peter, operated a wayside tavern on the site for about 40 years, probably from 1806 until 1846. In 1846, at the age of 66, Samuel sold his farm and Inn to his son, Nicholas . This rare1860 stereo-graph photo is believed (but not confirmed) to be the Upper Bartlett House or The Stillings Tavern and Stage Stop. It would have been located in the vicinity of today's Mountain Home Cabins on Rte 302. Titus Brown's Tavern was in this area 60 years before, about 1800. Titus Brown Tavern Nicholas Stillings, son of Samuel, may have been born sometime around 1815. He was a teamster who hauled produce from upper Coos County and Vermont to Portland and on the return trip brought salt. From this beginning, about 1835, Nicholas became first, a partner in The Abbott & Osgood Company, a stage line that ran from Conway to Crawford's, and later became the sole owner. Nicholas distinguished his stage company by using only matched gray horses to pull his stages. He operated this company for eleven years during the summer months and used his teams for logging operations during the winter. In 1846 he purchased his father's (Samuel) farm. By 1854 Nicholas had built The Upper Bartlett House , a two story inn, on his father's former farm and Inn. This was located on the north side of Rte 302 near today's Mountain Home Cabins and near the location of the previous Titus Brown Inn . During the brief existance of the Upper Bartlett House it became well known and respected for comfortable beds and good food. It was mentioned in the highly respected "Eastman's White Mountain Guide" Nicholas was a natural showman and hired storyteller's to entertain his guests, and he himself was known to spin many "tall tales", some of which may have actually been true. Nicholas was an energetic and ambitious man and in 1866 he moved to Jackson and in 1869 built a starch factory and a store in that town. In 1876 he built a hotel as well. It was named the Glen Ellis House . During his Bartlett years he served six terms as Selectman and was a State Representative in 1862. He was the recruiting officer in Bartlett to see that sufficient numbers of men were recruited for the Civil War. He himself was a Captain in the Militia. Source: Incidents in White Mountain history - by Rev. Benjamin G. Willey Bartlett, NH Tavern Fire, Apr 1879 THE BARTLETT FIRE.----Our Conway correspondent writes that the loss to Mr. N. T. Stillings of Bartlett, whose tavern stand and out-buildings were destroyed by fire on the 3d, is $5000, with no insurance. The loss will be a heavy one to Mr. S., whose popular tavern and stage lines were so well known among the pilgrims to "the Switzerland of America." The fire is thought to have originated from a defective chimney. The family of Mr. S, was away at the time of the fire. The New Hampshire Patriot, Concord, NH 13 Apr 1879 Garland From the book, "Lucy Crawford's History of the White Mountains": Richard Garland: In December of 1783 Richard Garland was one of only five inhabitants of this location and there were but few inhabitants within 36 miles. Dover was the closest town for purchasing provisions. At one point Mr Garland had a small farm cultivated and one of his neighbors offered him a team of horses if he could find a plow. Mr Garland then went 7 miles and borrowed the nearest one. He carried it home on his back, plowed all day and into the night, then carried the plow back. During this same day he went 2 miles to buy a 50 pound bale of hay, which he also carried home on his back. When Bartlett was incorporated in 1790 Mr Garland was the town's first constable and collector of taxes. Mr Garland also helped Captain Rosebrook in his endeavors to found a highway through the notch by bringing the first load of supplies (rum) through the notch to prove it could be done. And, from "The History of Carroll County", 1889, Georgia Drew Merrill Richard Garland was a soldier of the Revolution, a native of Dover, and lived to an advanced age, dying March 5,1853. His wife was Sarah Watson , of Rochester. Their eldest son, Eben , remained in Bartlett, and married Lydia Hayes , of Rochester. They had three sons, Alexis, Richard, and Otis (the two Latter died young), and four daughters. Alexis made his home in town and married. His four sons were: Benjamin C., Eben O., Richard A., and Fred E. Eben O. is a resident of Bartlett, and carries on merchandising and an Inn, The Garland in the upper Village.. December, 1783, Richard Garland, as he told Lucy Crawford, " was one inhabitant among five who came into that location, and there were but few inhabitants distance of thirty-six miles, mostly woods, and they were seventy-five miles from Dover , where they had to go for their provisions, and had them to draw in a hand-sleigh in the winter over a little bushed path, without a bridge. After several years Mr Garland had a small piece of land under cultivation. Tradition has it that at one time he walked seven miles to plow, as two of his neighbors would each lend him a horse. He carried the plow home on his back, then walked a mile and a half to buy hay. After a good day's work he returned the plow, then went home to his supper, having walked thirty miles. I've seen that the work of planting civilization here was not a holiday play, and the story of Mr Garland could he almost duplicated in the experience of any settler. Out of dangers, hardships, sufferings, and exposure, was loped a kindliness to others, and on this broad and liberal principle was civilization founded. The same spirit is a ruling passion with the descendants of the pioneers who live in town to-day. Another Version of the same story (1889). CAPTAIN NICHOLAS TUTTLE STILLINGS who was for many years well known as a successful business man BORN in Bartlett, April 1:'., 1818, and died in Jackson. Grandfather, Samuel Stillings , an early resident of Bartlett. located in the " Upper District." Samuel, Jr. in 1790 , and learned the trade of ship carpenter, but purchased a piece of wild land on the north side of Bartlett, where Waller Stanton now lives, and after developing it bought the J. B. Brown farm , and kept a wayside inn . Married Martha , daughter of Benjamin and Jane (Folsom) Tuttle. (Mr and .Mrs Tuttle were from Lee, moved to Eaton and then in 1816 to Hart's Location , and subsequently to Jefferson, where they lived out their last days.) The children of Samuel and .Martha (Tuttle) Stillings attaining maturity were: Nicholas T., Alfred, Miiin F., and Clarinda J., who married Elias M.- Hall , of Bartlett. Mr Stillings was an honest, industrious, hard-working farmer. He was never known to deviate from the strictest truth, and lost several lawsuits by telling the facts, without any attempt to omit, pervert, or mystify them. Politically he was a Democrat : religiously a Universalist, and he lived a good and useful life. He died in lStlS. his wife surviving him Nicholas T. Stillings attained a strong and robust physique in his home among the mountains and was noted for his great muscular strength. He worked for his father until his majority, then started in life on his own, purchasing a farm for seven hundred dollars on credit, his only capital being a pair of colts. However he soon took to himself a help- bright, vigorous woman, who with her willing hands helped turn wheels of honest labor with good results. Mr Stillings paid for his farm in seven years. He was obliged to work hard to do this, as money was and labor and stock brought small prices. He would go to Portland, buy a load of salt, and draw it to Vermont and Upper Coos, where he would dispose of it for part money and part produce, with which returned to Portland. In 1846 he bought the farm of his father, and kept a stage tavern until he moved to Jackson. (This house was burned in 1879.) He then commenced lumbering , and not long after purchased the stage-route from the Glen to the Crawford House, and dined the rs at his "hotel." He ran this line summers for eleven years, turning it only with the advent of the railroad. The horses he used in the winter, thus combining two enterprises very successful, a pair of " seven foot" oxen for forty dollars. And fully during his life continued to purchase and operate large tracts of timber. He had an energetic, active temperament was always ready for hard work and the promotion of new enterprises. In 1866 he built a Starch mill in Jackson, and in 1869 removed thither, and. with his daughter Sophronia, established a store as N. T. Stillings & Co . His next work was the building of the Glen Ellis House , which was opened for guests in 1876. This is a solid structure located near the Ellis river. When Mr Stillings was asked why he put so much work into it, and did it so thoroughly, he answered that he was going to build it to stand as a monument to show that he was once on earth . In August, 1839, Mr Stillings married Patience Stanton , daughter of William and Patience Jenkins . She was born in New Durham. August 1817. Their children were: Sophronia , (married Silas M. Thompson, and had one child, Harry Alonzo, born in 1884), who inherits many of her father's characteristics; Alonzo (nee.); Emeline (Mrs .lames Nute. of Bartlett). Democratic in politics, and often serving as selectman in Bartlett and Jackson, Mr Stillings was recognized as a keen business man possessing rare good judgment. He had great perseverance, and when he started an enterprise he invariably carried it through. He was public-spirited and generous toward anything that appeared to him just and right, but was never a time-server, and could not nor would not fall in with every scheme presented to him. He was a captain in the militia and a good disciplinarian. A strong, rugged character, he was one whose personality was in keeping with his surroundings, and impressed himself upon all who knew him. He will not soon he forgot ten. and few have done more tor the benefit of the town. Source: "The History of Carroll County", 1889, Georgia Drew Merrill More Stillings Story This picture shows Mountain Home when James and Emeline Nute owned it. (James with the beard and his son with suit and tie), perhaps Emeline sitting on porch) They operated a large farm extending westward to Silver Springs, Eastward to about where The Bartlett Inn is located today and Northward to the Saco River. The farm also included what was then "Silver Spring Cottage" just a tad to the east on the opposite side of the street. This was formerly a part of the Stillings lands. The Nutes sold the pictured building and land to Clifton and Lucille Garland about 1930. Looks so idyllic - but the reality was much different. Chubbuck Levi Chubbuck Born in Abington, Plymouth, Massachusetts, on 15 Aug 1761 to Jonathan Chubbuck and Hannah Marble. Levi Chubbuck passed away on 16 Jan 1832 in Bartlett, Carroll County, New Hampshire. During the American Revolution he enlisted for a year in 1776 as a fifer, and then re-enlisted for a full three-year tour of duty. He was wounded in his left knee by a musket ball. He was discharged in 1780 at the ripe old age of 19, where after he moved to Bedford, NH, to be with the rest of his family. He applied for a pension but was denied. He apparently got married in Bedford and then moved to Bartlett, NH, where he spent the rest of his life. Between 1785 and 1809 he fathered 12 children, 8 girls, 4 boys. He served Bartlett on a Committee to locate and layout roads in1793. He died comparatively young, but left a large family. His sons Levi and Barnet settled in town, Levi occupying his father's homestead. Hannah married John Thompson, of Conway; Sally married John Carlton; Betsey married a Walker: Jane married David Carlton. Levi the younger married Ann Davis, and had children: Edwin: George; Mary A. ; Emeline (married Hon. (i. W. M. Pitman) ; Rhoda (married Tobias Dinsmore). Sources: Incidents in White Mountain history - by Rev. Benjamin G. Willey https://www.ancestry.com › genealogy › records › levi-chubbuck_91882748 "The History of Carroll County", 1889, Georgia Drew Merrill brooklyncentre.com › trees › getperson Bartlett NH - In the Valley of the Saco - Aileen Carroll - 1990 Lucy Crawford's History of the White Mountains - circa 1860 REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS OF The State of New Hampshire • BOSTON - NEW ENGLAND HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 15 COURT SQUARE 1902 Captain Nicholas Tuttle Stillings is buried at the Jackson, NH cemetery Here is an interesting account of the 1834 Willey Slide and Rescue as told by Ebenezer Tasker, who was the son of a member of the rescue party. Names mentioned are Edward Melcher, Jonathan Rogers, Samuel Tuttle, Abram Allen, Samuel Stillings and Isaac Fall as members of the group. Reference to Judge Hall's Tavern and Tasker's 116 acre farm. This article was published in The New York Times, August 20, 1894. Here is a link to a PDF version of the story: New York Times Article REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS OF The State of New Hampshire • BOSTON -NEW ENGLAND HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 15 COURT SQUARE 1902 1892 Map showing from town line at Harts Location to Chandler's Farm and another showing Center Bartlett and Jericho. Names indicate which family names from 100 years previous still had a presence in the town. You can see these high resolution maps in their entirety at the David Rumsey Map Collection here: Rumsey Maps Early Settlers Stillings - Garland - Chubbick Emery - Pitman Hall - Pendexter - Tasker - Seavey George - Gilly - Fox - Willey
- First Settlers Page 4 | bartletthistory
The very early settlers of Bartlett 1780 to 1800 Page 4 George The George family came to Bartlett from the very nearby Albany Intervale, moving there from Conway in 1800. While they did not arrive in Bartlett until 1815, their story up until that point is an interesting tale. Early Settlers Stillings - Garland - Chubbick Emery - Pitman Hall - Pendexter - Tasker - Seavey George - Gilly - Fox - Willey In the book PASSACONAWAY IN THE WHITE MOUNTAINS , the author, Charles Edward Beals, Jr, describes this picture as "The Historic George House". It was later to be the residence of R.P. Colbath. Today it is the Historic Russell Colbath House. MORE EARLY SETTLERS - CLICK LOGO opens in new window SOURCE: PASSACONAWAY IN THE WHITE MOUNTAINS Charles Edward Beal Published in 1916 During the year 1800, Austin George, with a large family (fourteen children) drove up from Conway to the Passaconway intervale, known as Great Valley,and built a large barn of hewed and split white pine from top to bottom. No labor was wasted, for the timber grew upon the very ground which the settler wished to clear. The men chose rift trees, split the boards, shingles and planks and smoothed them with an adze. A log-house was built and finished in the same way. One or two neighbors came with this family, but made no preparations for permanent settlement, and, after two or three years, went back to Conway. Mr. George's oldest son brought his bride from Conway to live with the family. Doubtless owing to the hardship of pioneer life, sickness came to the family. A daughter, nineteen years of age, died of consumption. The nearest neighbors were ten miles way. The poor mother was forced to make all the funeral preparations with her own hands. Friends arrived later and the customary burial rites were observed. The father, Austin George, was a scholar and a great reader. He taught his children geography, grammar, arithmetic and history, and in later years some of these frontier children became among the best school teachers In the country. So cold was the climate that corn and wheat were out of the question; in fact, the only vegetables they could raise were those which frost could not kill, such as cabbages, turnips, onions, and potatoes. Although the soil is unusually fertile and free from stones, so very short is the season between frosts (for ice often forms here in July and August) that only the fast growing vegetables and those that can survive the frosts can be relied upon. The girls and boys reaped abundant crops of hay, while the father cultivated the garden. The mother, by hand, wove the clothes for the numerous members. The entire family had to turn to and toil from daylight to dark in order to eke out their meager existence. There were no drones in these early families. Times grew harder and harder in the George home. The cattle died of the "Burton Ail," (see side bar) no remedy at this time being known. A hurricane swept through the very center of the valley, tearing up trees by the roots. Everything in its path, which was a half mile in width, was laid level with the ground. The hurricane crossed the valley from northwest to southeast. In 1814, the family decided to abandon the place. Two sons had left and enlisted in the war against England, one of whom was killed at the Battle of Bridgewater in July, 1814. In October of the same year, the oldest son moved his family away. The now aged father decided to stay long enough to feed his stock the supply of hay on hand, while his family lived on the produce they had raised, as it was impossible to move these supplies through the forest and Mr. George had nothing with which to buy more. Until March, 1815, he remained, when, taking his family, which now consisted of a wife, three sons and three daughters, he moved to Bartlett. Mr. George felt very sad over abandoning his home in the intervale, and, although he lived twenty-four years longer, he never could bring himself to visit the spot again and see the, abandoned home. Thus Mr. George derived no benefit from the years of toil and hardship which he had put in here. For ten years the old George homestead was left to transient hunters, trappers and perhaps bandits. Yet its occupancy by the Georges had proved that, despite Chocorua's curse and the rigorous climate, human beings could exist here. In March, 1824, nine years after Mr. George had left, Mr. Amzi Russell, who had married the granddaughter of Austin George, moved into the old house and the settlement was begun in earnest; and never afterwards, up to the present, although time and again sorely tested, has it been entirely abandoned. The building was in a very dilapidated condition, having been used by rough men from time to time. The beautiful white-pine finishing had been ripped off by these vandals, who used the wood as fuel with which to cook their venison and keep themselves warm. The Russells had every reason to believe that the house had been used as a meeting-place by men who came from different parts of the country and who seemed well acquainted with the place. Evidently it had been a rendezvous for brigands who met here by agreement to divide their plunder or bury their treasure. A horse was discovered in the month of March by some of the Russells who were hunting. The family worked industriously on their farm and existed on what "garden truck" they could raise, which fare was supplemented by a plentiful supply of game. In 1833 the Russell brothers built a mill at the lower end of the intervale. Here they sawed lumber for the valley and made trips to Portland to haul lumber to market. At Portland they could procure supplies for their families. On these trips they would also bring back goods for the traders at Conway, and this helped to pay expenses. They managed to subsist by such activities and by farming. Happily and contentedly they lived, and made what improvements they could in addition to their regular tasks. Austin George had fourteen children, the first three of whom are buried in the Russell Cemetery in the Albany Intervale. Daniel George, a son of the pioneer, had a daughter, Eliza Morse George, who married Amzi Russell, son of Thomas Russell. Mrs. Russell lived to be over ninety years old. She kept a manuscript from which were taken not a few of the facts here recorded. The children of Amzi and Eliza Morse (George) Russell were Martha George Russell, who married Celon Russell Swett; Thirza Russell, who married Andrew J. Lord; Mary Russell, who died young; Ruth Priscilla Russell, who married Thomas Alden Colbath and lives in the historic old George homestead, and who for many years was Postmistress; and Flora Emma Russell, who never married. To Mrs. Colbath the present writer is deeply indebted for access to the Russell Manuscript and for letters supplementing the account given in said manuscript. Mrs. Colbath, as her acquaintances can testify, is a woman of superior intellectual ability and moral excellence, and scores of people, in many states, take pride in calling her their friend. The reason for writing so particularly about the George family is that not only have very reliable records been kept of the hardships endured, which hardships were typical of those necessarily endured by all the early families, but because Mr. George's long stay laid the foundation for a permanent settlement in the Albany Intervale. J More About the Georges in Bartlett Old Jack of Passaconway - Expert trapper and guide. circa 1840 Chocorua's Curse and Burton Ail Disease: "May the Great Spirit curse you when he speaks in the clouds and his words are fire! May lightning blast your crops! Wind and fire destroy your homes! The Evil One breathe death on your cattle! May panthers howl and the wolves fatten on your bones!" Such, the legend tells us, were his final words. For long years thereafter, the area's small colony of hardy pioneers is said to have experienced a succession of devastating reverses of the kind Chocorua had named. According to one writer, "The tomahawk and scalping-knife were busy among them; the winds tore up trees, and hurled them at their dwellings; their crops were blasted, their cattle died and sickness came upon their strongest men." Wolf and bear raids on livestock were also blamed on Chocorua's curse. It is a matter of record that cattle in the town of Burton at the mountain's base did regularly sicken and die of a strange disease, which settlers attributed to Chocorua's malediction. The disease was known as "Burton's Ail," and in 1833 townspeople went so far as to change the town's name to Albany, in hopes of disassociating it from its reputation as a killer of cattle. (Fruitlessly, it would seem, since Benjamin G. Willey, writing his "Incidents in White Mountain History" more than 20 years later, reported that "to this day, say the inhabitants, a malignant disease has carried off the cattle that they have attempted rearing around this mountain." Ultimately, it was discovered that high concentrations of muriate of lime in the local water supply were responsible for the suffering and death of Albany's cattle. A simple antidote consisting of carbonate of lime administered in the form of soapsuds or alternatively, meadow mud, put an end to the problem. The cattle ailed no more, and the superstition died. Gilly - Fox - Willey Late in the year 1777: Paul Jilly, Daniel Fox, Captain Samuel Willey , from Lee came and settled in Upper Bartlett. Sources say they located to the farthest end of town, which at that time would have been in the Chadbourne bequest. There seems to be little mention among local historical authors concerning Mr Jilly or Mr. Fox, other than shortly after their arrival their horses departed on their own for home in Lee. They never made it home becoming lost in the forests and it being winter, starved to death. The horses remains were found in the Spring. Jilly and Fox may have simply lived lives of quiet desperation...or perhaps contentment...performing no achievements of particular interest, like the majority of people. However a map dated 100 years later shows no mention of their names or next generation names in the location they settled. Captain Willey was the first to leave after his horse "took-off" for home in Lee shortly after their arrival. The Captain moved to Conway where he purchased a tract which he farmed. He lived there until his death in 1844 at age 91, the last of the remaining original inhabitants of that town. Captain Willey had a son, Samuel Willey Jr, who in the autumn of 1825 moved himself and his family into what would later become famous as The Willey House . It had been built earlier by a Mr. Henry Hill who operated it for a time as an Inn. It had been abandoned for several years when the Willey's moved in and they set about making improvements and added a barn, All was fine until in August of 1826 the well recounted event occurred known later as the Willey Slide , which devastated the family and ironically the event helped make the area famous as the story was reported in all the major city newspapers. If you don't know the story it can be found easily with a google search. The site became an historic site and drew many people from far away to visit the site. The mountain at which their house was located was named Mt. Willey in their honor. Early Settlers Stillings - Garland - Chubbick Emery - Pitman Hall - Pendexter - Tasker - Seavey George - Gilly - Fox - Willey Sources: Incidents in White Mountain history - by Rev. Benjamin G. Willey https://www.ancestry.com › genealogy › records › levi-chubbuck_91882748 "The History of Carroll County", 1889, Georgia Drew Merrill brooklyncentre.com › trees › getperson Bartlett NH - In the Valley of the Saco - Aileen Carroll - 1990 Lucy Crawford's History of the White Mountains - circa 1860 REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS OF The State of New Hampshire • BOSTON - NEW ENGLAND HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 15 COURT SQUARE 1902
- First Settlers Page 3 | bartletthistory
MORE EARLY SETTLERS - CLICK LOGO opens in new window The very early settlers of Bartlett 1780 to 1800 Page 3 Hall Early Settlers Stillings - Garland - Chubbick Emery - Pitman Hall - Pendexter - Tasker - Seavey George - Gilly - Fox - Willey Summary of the Hall relationships Hon Obed - Farm in upper village - Obed Hall's Tavern in upper village. Obed - Son of Hon Obed - went into business in Portland Elijah - Son of Hon Obed - studied law and left town early on Abigail - Daughter of Hon Obed - never married - was a keen business woman in Portland Hannah - Daughter of Hon Obed - Married Benjamin Gould of Conway Center. He kept Tavern for many years Maria - Daughter of Hon Obed Mary and Martha - twin daughters of Hon Obed Caroline - daughter of Hon Obed First wife - 20 years older Second wife - 20 years younger - she was mother of the children. Ebenezer L.D. Hall - Brother of HON Obed - Revolutionary war soldier - taught school - County Probate Judge Obed Hall Esq of Tamworth was Ebenezer's son Jonathan - son of Ebenezer - Life long resident of Bartlett Lloyd L Hall - son of Jonathan - at book writing lived on hall ancestral land. Sarah A. Hall - daughter of Ebenezer L.D Hall married James H. Hall of Bartlett Elias Hall - Lived in various places - kept a toll bridge and the toll gate. ALPHA MERRILL HALL , proprietor of the Pleasant Valley Hall, (later the Bernerhof) at Bartlett, Carroll County, was born February 7, 1842, Jonathan Seavey Hall - Son of Elias - Built and operated the first Summit House Hotel on Mt Washington 1852 - Contractor for upper 4 miles of Carriage Road on Mt. Washington completed in 1861 - was a well respected Mountain Guide - may have been the first to ascend Mt Washington in winter. later moved to California where he built another mountain road and hotel. White Mountain History has written a lengthy article about Jonathan which you can find ( HERE .) Find More About the Hall ancestry on this page: HALL ANCESTRY In 1790 Obed Hall's Tavern was probably located at the junction of today's Bear Notch Road and Route 302, today's park. Travel at this time was hazardous and Tavern-keepers considered themselves benefactors to the traveling public rather than businessmen. Obed's Tavern was operated at various times by William White and Benjamin Gould. Obed came to Bartlett from Madbury as an early Bartlett pioneer who became a prominent citizen. He served as Selectman, Town Treasurer, and was elected to Congress in 1810. In 1819 he ran for the Senate but did not win that election. Read the Hall Ancestry Here Mr Hall was one of two appointed as Surveyors of Highways and he was among those who petitioned the General Court in 1793 for a tax of one penny per acre to be used for the improvement of roads within the town. Obed first married a woman 20 years his senior and second time a woman 20 years his Junior who mothered his children. After Obed's death his wife moved to Portland Maine and re-married to Richard O'Dell. In addition to the Tavern Mr Hall also tended a large farm which was located partially on the property that is today's Sky Valley Motel. It was probably 100 acres or more. It was thought that he also operated a lodging establishment at the farm. Joseph Seavey Hall, son of Ebenezer was a major element in the white mountains, starting as a well respected mountain guide. He married a Crawford and was in business with a Rosebrook. He was the builder of the first wood constructed summit house on Mount Washington in 1852. It preceded The Tip Top House - built of stone - in 1853. Joseph Seavey Hall was also the lead contractor to build the upper four miles of the carriage road to the top of the mountain, completing it in 1861. Hall sold his Mt. Washington hotels and joined in the Civil War. At the war’s end, he moved to California, found another mountain, built a road up it and then built a hotel at its summit. Joseph Seavey Hall of Bartlett was one of the most important participants in mid-nineteenth century events in Crawford Notch (or the White Mountain Notch as it was known in those days) and on Mt. Washington. Yet most people have never heard of him. Read the Story at the White Mountain History web site, HERE .) Elias Hall lived in various places, he was a toll collector on the Tenth NH Turnpike through Crawford Notch as well as keeping a toll bridge. An uncle, or perhaps his grandfather, Judge Obed Hall of Bartlett, was one of the major investors, and an officer, of the Tenth NH Turnpike Corporation . Elias later removed to Jefferson where he died. ALPHA MERRILL HALL , proprietor of the Pleasant Valley Hall, (later the Bernerhof) at Bartlett, was born February 7, 1842, in that town, which was also the birthplace of his father, Elias M. Hall , and of his grandfather, Elias Hall. ancestor, lived to the ripe old age of four score, was four times married, and had a family of eighteen children. Elias M. Hall spent his entire life of seventy-seven years in Bartlett, being engaged in farming and carpentry. He was highly respected in the community, and at one time represented his town in the State Legislature. He married Clarinda J. Stillings, a daughter of Samuel Stillings, of Bartlett. Alpha Merrill Hall was educated in the district schools of Bartlett, spending his early life on the parental homestead. Subsequently he followed the carpenter's trade and also engaged in agriculture, and is now the owner of a good-sized farm, from which he cuts annually a large volume of timber. In 1898 he built the Pleasant Valley House , which is finely located and contains eight rooms, with baths and various modern improvements. He is a member of the local Grange. - Mr. Hall married, first, in January, 1869, Maria C. Charlotte (Dearing) Emery, daughter of Ruben and Charlotte (Dearing) Emery . Of this union there was one child, Herbert A., born May 18, 1870. . Mr. Hall married, second, March 12, 1874, Abbie Chase, daughter of Rufus Chase, of Madison, N. H. By her he has one child, Rufus M ., born August 2, 1877, who lives with his parents. The Hall family has been distinguished and prominent. Hon. Obed Hall, from Madbury, early had a fine farm in Upper Bartlett, and his house was a popular house of entertainment. He was a man of medium size and fine presence, and of great ability. He was member of Congress in 1811, and for many years his influence was potent in affairs. An old resident says: Ezra Keniston now resides on the place where was his home." Obed Hall had the smartest family ever raised in Bartlett, and the best-looking girls. His son Obed went into business in Portland; Elijah studied law and left town early. Abigail, a daughter, never married, but engaged in business in Portland and was a keen business woman. Hannah married Benjamin Gould , of Conway Centre. He kept tavern for a long time. The other children were: Maria, Mary and Martha (twins), and Caroline. His first wife was twenty years older than he, and his second wife was twenty years younger than he. She was mother of the children. After Mr. Hall's death she married Richard Odell, and took the children with her to Portland." Ebenezer L. D. Hall, a Revolutionary soldier, was a brother of Judge Obe d Hall, and was a man of unusual education and business qualities. He taught school, and was popularly known as "Master" Hall. He filled various town offices with ability, and on the death of Dr Willson in 1811 was appointed judge of probate of Coos county, of which Bartlett was a part at that time, and held the office until 1829. Judge James W. Weeks writes of him: "Mr. Hall was very popular as judge of probate. He was a farmer, and a man of influence. His manners were most courtly, and he possessed extremely kind feelings. Widows and orphans could trust their interests in his hands with perfect safety." OBED HALL Esq. 1795 -1873 was son of Hon. Ebenezer L. and Lydia (Dinsmore) Hall ; born, Conway, February 23, 1795 ; (Ebenezer was Obed 1st's brother) practiced, Bartlett and Tamworth ; died, Tamworth, May 21, 1873. In the war of 1812 Ebenezer Hall was in the military service for a short time, in a company of militia at Portsmouth. His early education was imperfect, and he studied law three years with Enoch Lincoln of Fryeburg, Maine, and two years with Lyman B. Walker of Meredith. He first set up in practice at Bartlett, and about 1820 changed his residence to Tamworth. He was representative in the legislature in 1840 and 1841, in which latter year he was appointed register of Probate for the new county of Carroll. That post he occupied ten years. In 1854 and 1856 he was a state senator.He was a lawyer of respectable acquirement's , but preferred to give his time and attention to politics, which did not conduce to his legal progress nor to his pecuniary profit. He gave much attention to his farm, being partial to agriculture. He was public-spirited, and in private life benevolent and kindly.His first wife was Elizabeth Gilman of Tamworth, who bore him one daughter; his second was Caroline E. , daughter of John Carroll of Maine. She left him a daughter, who outlived her father. SOURCE: The bench and bar of New Hampshire: including biographical notices ... By Charles Henry Bell Editors Note: Sorry for the lacks of pictures to go with this information. Apparently all these folks forgot to bring along their mobile phone camera. Find More About the Hall ancestry on this page: HALL ANCESTRY Pendexter 1776 Hon John Pendexter - arrived from Portsmouth NH Martha Jackson Pendexter - wife Samuel Pendexter - youngest son of Hon John and Martha - 1794 to 1883 - stayed on family homestead his entire life - Married Lydia T Meserve Joseph Pendexter - son of John and Martha - 1786 - 1855 - married Lydia Dinsmore - lived on the future site of the Langdon House - farmer Joseph's Children Solomon Dinsmore Pendexter - 1813 - 1868- married cousin, Mary Davis Meserve - farmer & Innkeeper near the future Langdon House named simply "The Solomon Pendexter House- killed by falling tree branch - two sons, John Langdon & Joseph - they died at age 19 and 24 respectively Samuel's Children - Silas M - died 1883 Betsey M - never married - died 1864 Charles Carroll - 1828 to 1881 - studied to be a surveyor - opened the family homestead as an Inn in 1874 as the Pendexter Mansion. He and his wife, Caroline Gale Pendexter operated the Inn alone tending to all it's associated duties. A much more thorough accounting of their lives may be found at Georgia Drew Merrill's book - The History of Carroll County - 1889. Starting on page 934 Here is a link to it. Pendexter THE PENDEXTER FAMILY. liketh the wilderness to bud and blossom like the rose." They made their home on the Intervale a century and more ago than they knew. Little did they think when in the bitter cold Town of Bartlett. They traveled the Long, weary miles from Portsmouth and Lee to this then almost uninhabited section, where the primeval forests were standing in all their Loftiness, where the solemn, grand, mysterious mountains seemed like sentinels to guard the way, where the wild beasts were Lurking in their fastnesses, that they were Laying the foundation of what will be a veritable garden of Eden. The Pendexters are of Norman-French origin, and were originally from the Isle of Jersey and of noble birth, the name being spelled Poingdestre. Arms: "Per less azure and or, in chief a dexter hand clenched with a cuff of gold, in base a mullet of azure. Crest, an esquires helmet. Motto: Nemo me impune lacessit." Hon. John Pendexter and his wife Martha (Jackson) Pendexter were among the first settlers of Lower Bartlett. They came from Portsmouth, NH, probably in the winter of 1775 and 1776. Mr Pendexter resided in the town until his death, at the age of eighty-three, honored and respected. Mrs Pendexter was his fitting companion and helpmate, and worked in all ways to make their home comfortable and pleasant. She died aged ninety-two. Here in this beautiful spot they experienced many joys and sorrows: here then dispensed a generous hospitality; and here, after active and useful Lives, the evening shadows fell, and night came upon them. The following sketch of John Pendexter and genealogical record is contributed by Hon. Edward F. Johnson, mayor of Woburn, Mass.: ••John Pendexter first built a house and barn on the Intervale, and it was there his first child. Alice, was born. The location of these buildings was some five hundred feet south of the present highway to Jackson, and to the right of the driveway leading from Mrs C. C. Pendexter's farm across the railroad, down to the Intervale. A sweet-brier bush is growing near the site. The uprisings of the Saco and some of its tributary streams soon warned Mr Pendexter of the dangerous situation of his homestead; and about 1777, he removed his family to higher ground and built the nucleus of the large family residence now known as the Pendexter mansion. Here all his children but Alice were born, and in it .John Pendexter the father, Samuel Pendexter the son. and Charles Pendexter the grandson, its successive owners, have all lived and died. "At the first town-meeting of Bartlett, John Pendexter was chosen first selectman, and re-chosen the next year. He was also elected surveyor of high- ways, an office which he held for many years. In 1795 he was chosen treasurer and also chairman of a special committee appointed to lay out roads in the new town. In 1801 and in 1805 he was elected moderator and first selectman. In 1803 he was chosen chairman of a committee to sit in a convention to be held in Conway relative to a new county.' In 1806 and for several years thereafter he held important county offices; in 1820 he was chief justice of the History of Carroll County. The official responsibilities and honors thus conferred upon testimonials of his worth and abilities. appearance Mr Pendexter was about five feet ten inches and muscular. Mr Willey speaks of him as a man. who for years was especially useful in the region.' He was a very hard-working man all his life, and he would be at his work at sunrise, although it miles away from home. Self-reliant and thoroughly independent, a man of great executive ability, and one who could brook no opposition proper behests and commands. Among his family and with his employee's his word was absolute law. He enforced a strict observance of the Sabbath-day in his household, and was a very earnest, conscientious Christian. . Samuel Pendexter lived to follow to their last resting places, father, mother, brothers and sisters, wife and children, but his declining years were cheered and comforted by the widow of his son Charles. whom he loved as if she was his own child, and who reverenced, honored, and cherished him with the tender, watchful care of a daughter. Mr Pendexter inherited many of his parents' excellences. Like his father, he was an honest and industrious man. He also had his mother's loving' and cheerful nature. He was social and kindly, but quiet and rather reserved with strangers: a Democrat in polities and firm in adherence to principle. By his industry and prudence he accumulated a handsome property: by his uniform kindness he gained friends; by faithfulness in the performance of every duty entrusted to him he won honor and respect from all. He held many positions of trust; was a steward and trustee of the Methodist Episcopal church. In respect to his manliness, all that was said was the great poet of an honest man maybe said of him, - the noblest work of God." To this there could be no dissent. "His religious life was a life of devotion to the cause of God lord more than sixty years, always abounding in the work of the Lord." He retained his youthful appearance and physical strength very remarkably, being able to attend church frequently in his eighty-eighth year, and but a few- weeks before his death. Charles Carroll Pendexter Samuel Pendexter Hon. John Pendexter and wife, Martha, came from Portsmouth at an early period, and settled in the south part of the town, near Conway. With his wife he traveled eighty miles in winter, she riding on a feeble old horse with a feather-bed under her, a child in her arms, and he by her side drawing a hand-sled, on which were their household goods. The Pendexter Mansion occupied the site near the Scenic Vista that now contains the Cathedral Ledge Condominium complex. In 1874, Charles and Caroline Pendexter's opened their homstead as an Inn, first simply called the Pendexter House and later the Pendexter Mansion. By 1885 Charles had died and Caroline continued operating the Inn on her own. By 1905 Caroline had remarried to Parkman Drown, a former employee. They had added tennis courts, an overflow building called The Annex and boasted of a 100 acre farm that provided nearly all their food stocks and dairy cows. By the 1920's business had declined due to increasing competition and Caroline died in 1924. Her husband, Parkman, continued along until 1932. After his death the property fell into the hands of one of his relatives but in the 1950's was sold to Jeff Foley who re named it to the Region House. Eventually Foley sold the land across the street for condominiums and the land behind for development. The building was resold to Anthony Abry who promptly changed the name to Skirolean Lodge, which was to be it's final commercial use. Within a few years the doors were closed forever. It had escaped fire which had destroyed so many others but was razed to make way for a Chinese restaurant and later by the Cathedral Ledge Condominiums, which as of 2019 are still occupying the space. Seavey This article researched, compiled and offered to the Bartlett Historical Society by Ruth Ward Abbott. The Historic Seavey Ward House Tasker The Tasker family was located in Bartlett in the late 1700’s, possibly settling there between 1780-1790. Previous extensive research has been done and is provided at this link. Seavey Ward House Tasker Samuel, Simon, and Jonathan Seavey lived in the east part near Kearsarge. Their descendants are in Conway. Frank George married Mary, daughter of Ithamar Seavey, of Conway, belonging to this family. I will dig up some more information eventually. Early Settlers Stillings - Garland - Chubbick Emery - Pitman Hall - Pendexter - Tasker - Seavey George - Gilly - Fox - Willey Sources: Eastern Slope Signal newspaper 1965 The Latchstring was Always Out - Aileen Carroll - 1994 Bartlett NH - Aileen Carroll - 1990 The History of Carroll County - Georgia Drew Merrill - 1889 Sources: Incidents in White Mountain history - by Rev. Benjamin G. Willey https://www.ancestry.com › genealogy › records › levi-chubbuck_91882748 "The History of Carroll County", 1889, Georgia Drew Merrill brooklyncentre.com › trees › getperson Bartlett NH - In the Valley of the Saco - Aileen Carroll - 1990 Lucy Crawford's History of the White Mountains - circa 1860 REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS OF The State of New Hampshire • BOSTON - NEW ENGLAND HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 15 COURT SQUARE 1902 Just a few notes I'm keeping for now The Pendexter Mansion about three minutes walk to the north of the station, is one of the most charming houses in this section. It, too, commands an unobstructed view of the Intervale and the mountains around it. This house, which accommodates fifty guests, was built by Mrs. C. C. Pendexter in 1872, and has always remained under her excellent management, and maintained a reputation for being homelike. An addition was made to the cottage in 1886, and other recent improvements serve to render this mansion attractive; many of its rooms are heated and the house is open the year round. Its winter night suppers for sleighing parties are famous. For regular boarders it is open from the first of May until the last of October. Samuel and Joseph. Isaac, George, and Robert Stanton lived in the Hall neighborhood, just below Ebenezer Tasker's. Richard Garland lived just above Ebenezer Tasker on the main road. There is no house on the farm. Levi Rogers lives just above. Joseph Seavey moved to New York. Elijah Seavey settled below Judge Hall. He had three daughters. Lavina married Walker George; Eliza married John Wentworth; Lucy married John George. Austin George came early from Conway and settled the farm where his son, Benjamin F., lived so many years, and now occupied by Frank George. He was an active and useful man. Peter Stillings lived below the village on the road to Judge Hall's. Samuel Stillings was the farthest resident in the upper part of the town. William White paid Judge Hall seventeen hundred dollars in money for his farm, about a mile below Hall's tavern, and it was the finest one in that part of the town. His son William went to Canada, took part in the Rebellion of 1837, returned, and died in Conway. Source: History of Carroll County, NH, edited by Georgia Drew Merrill, 1889 Transcribed by: Helen Coughlin James Rogers and sons, Daniel, Joshua, and Jonathan, lived across the Saco from Judge Hall. Samuel Fall lived near neighbor to Obed Hall. O ne of his daughters, Rebecca, married Samuel Parker, the miller: another, Judith, married an Allard and had two . Samuel and Joseph. Isaac. George, and Robert Stanton lived in the Hall neighborhood, just below Ebenezer Tasker's. Richard Garland lived just above Ebenezer Tasker on the main road. There is no house on tlie farm. Lives just above. Joseph Seavey moved to New York. Elijah ettled below Judge Hall. He had three daughters. Lavina married Eliza married John Wentworth ; Lucy married John George. ■tin G ame early from Conway and settled the farm where his son, niM.'i !•'.. Lived so many years, and now occupied by Frank George. He " ; ""1 useful man. Peter Stillings lived below the village on the o Judge Hall's. Samuel Stillings was the farthest resident in the upper own. William White paid Judge Hall seventeen hundred dollars rm, about a mile below Hall's tavern, and it was the finest tie town. His soll William went to Canada, took part in the Rebellion of 1837, returned, and died in Conway.
- First Settlers Page 2 | bartletthistory
MORE EARLY SETTLERS - CLICK LOGO opens in new window Source Material: Bartlett NH - Aileen Carroll - 1990 Latchstring Was Always Out - Aileen Carroll - 1994 Chrnicles of White Mountains - Frederick Kilbourne - 1916 Incidents in the White Mountains - Benjamin Willey - 1856 Lucy Crawfords History of the White Mountains - 1860 The very early settlers of Bartlett 1780 to 1800 Page 2 Emery Early Settlers Stillings - Garland - Chubbick Emery - Pitman Hall - Pendexter - Tasker - Seavey George - Gilly - Fox - Willey Brothers Enoch and Humphrey Emery were among the first settlers. They accepted an offer from William Stark , who had been granted 3000 acres from Governor Wentworth, to homestead on part of the land. Their little area was originally known as Starks Location . In later times it became known as Jericho. So the story goes, Enoch was motivated to move north after a brief dalliance with a Rachel Terrell in Dunbarton (his former home). Later, Rachel, "big with child" took her case to the New Hampshire Supreme Court when Enoch refused marriage. Whether or not Rachel's claims were true it provided Enoch a chance to escape her wrath by moving to the northern wilderness. Enoch and Humphrey differed from one another almost as much as it is possible for two people to differ. Enoch was frank, open, generous and manly in his nature, while Humphry was sullen, obstinate and contrary. Despite their differences they got along well and were well liked among their neighbors and provided valuable services needed by all. Enoch was a blacksmith by trade and his services were sought out from a wide surrounding area. Brother Humphry ran a brick company, also a much needed commodity in a growing community. In 1790 Enoch was elected to Selectman and the year before had been part of a committee to layout roads for the town. The summer drought of 1826 came to an end that August, at the time of the great disaster near the Notch, when the Willey family were destroyed, a circumstance almost as frightful occurred in connection with the family of Mr. Emery , who lived at a place called Jericho, near the Rocky Branch, a tributary of the Saco. That stream swelled enormously , and, by the rocks, trees, and logs which it brought down in its vehement course, made a complete dam just below the spot where the house stood. By this accumulation of water the house was raised from its foundation, being buoyed up on its surface like a boat. In this perilous situation the inhabitants remained all night, and it was only by the wonderful workings of Providence that they were saved from a watery grave. This photo is about 100 years after the Emery's adventures on the Rocky Branch . The caption says "Hauling Timber by 2000 foot cable" "Maple Mountain Rocky Branch 1914" Pitman Understanding the Pitman Family Relatives and Activities East Branch House - William & Winthrop - opened 1870 burned 1898 Pitman Hall 1905 burned 1930 Pitman's Arch - Named in honor of Lycurgis for his devotion to the Town, Pitman residence - have photo Pitman Hall - have photo Alice Pendexter - wife of John Pitman 1774 had 11 children Angivine - another proprietor of East Branch House - died in 1880 Benjamin - Built Cedarcroft 1800 Doris - Daughter of William, returned after retirement from a teaching career in 1941 to a home she and her sister built on the site of the East Branch House that burned. Ella - First wife of George Gale, Maple Villa's owner George WM HON) - son of Joseph, father of William & Winthrop Harriet - Hazen's daughter Hazen - 1854 owned Pequawket House, born 1806, Josephs grandson, died 1890 not as ambitious as other family members - wife ran their Inn. Joseph - came from England 1774 - Revolutionary war privateers-man 1776 Joseph Jr -1810. With Wm Stilphen got liquor license and opened at Stilphens Farm John P. - Son of Benjamin & Sally - inherited Cedarcroft in 1848 never married - at death gave farm to his handyman, a Mr. Howard. 200 acres, best cultivated farm in Bartlett - In 1890 the farm purchased by Uriah Ballard Russell and wife Ann and by 1892 they opened it as Inn, and so it was until 1953. Lycurgis - Area promoter .lived in North Conway and was a druggist. Brother of Winthrop and William - Pitman's Arch named in his honor. At considerable expense to himself he built a wagon road to the top of Humphry's ledge above the Arch. Vashti - in 1930 lived directly across river from East Branch House Sally Pendexter - wife of Benjamin Walter - Pitman Hall proprietor - opened 1889. an elegant collection of horse drawn buckboards of all descriptions. - dance hall with orchestra. Cousin of Winthrop and William. Expert horseman - operated livery - brought in horses to sell William - East branch House proprietor Winthrop - East branch house proprietor Mary-- Hazen's first wife Adna - School teacher in District 3, probably Intervale area, in 1874 Joseph Pitman was an important man in the early settlement, holding many useful offices. No other of the pioneers has so many descendants bearing his name or in positions of honor. He came from England in 1774 and worked as a privateer during the revolutionary war. John Pitman, son of Joseph, lived off from the valley road on the East branch. He married Abby , daughter of Woodman Carlton. His oldest son, Hazen, is the oldest representative of the family name. He was born January 30, 1806, married, first, Mary , daughter of Joseph Pendexter ; second, Eliza H ., daughter of Ebenezer and Polly (Huson) Tasker . He has been much in town office, and fifty years a Methodist church member. He laid the foundations of the Pequawket House by opening a boarding-house in 1854. It is said that Benjamin Pitman was left a lad on the kindness of his uncle Joseph, who brought him up as his own son. Marrying Sally Pendexter , he located in Jackson, but in a short time came to Bartlett. A stalwart man, orderly and methodical, he was powerful and harmonious in body and mind, and very decided. As a result of the industry of himself and wife, he had one of the largest and best cultivated farms in Bartlett, Cedarcroft Benjamin's son, John P. Pitman, was a teacher for many years, prominent in town, and county treasurer of Coos county for three terms. He had a dignified presence and unquestioned integrity. A sterling Democrat, he did much good work in filling the quota of Bartlett in the Civil War. He died unmarried a few years since. Just over the bridge spanning the East Branch was the East Branch House. It was established about 1870 and was substantially larger than the other Intervale Hotels with a capacity of 125. Its rates were comparable to its rivals at $7. to $10.50 per week. Its guests could actually hear the sound of the stream from their bedroom windows. Its owners were two brothers, William and Winthrop M. Pitman, great grandsons of Joseph and Alice (Pendexter) Pitman. Having grown-up in Intervale they were no strangers to the Hotel business as many of their ancestors and relatives were also Innkeepers in the Intervale area. The Pitman name was evident in Bartlett's history from the very beginning. The Hotel they built and operated was a great success with a loyal following. In 1898 the hotel burned in what was described as an awesome spectacle to those viewing it. So loyal were the guests that the year following the fire they held a reunion in Boston, inviting the Pitmans and all the guests who had been regular visitors. Hon. George W. M. Pitman Son of Joseph and Joanna (Meserve) Pitman , was born in Bartlett, May 8, 1819. He lived with his parents until he was twelve years of age, then went to the tavern of his cousins, Stephen and Ezra Meserve , located where Pitman Brothers' East Branch House now stands, remaining there three years, and then returned to his home. He was educated at the public schools of North Conway and Fryeburg, Maine. In the fall of 1840 he married Emeline, Ann (Davis) Chubbuck, and continued In residence in Bartlett where he has always made his home. Judge Pitman was engaged in teaching for some five or six years, then in surveying, for which he had fully qualified himself, he has done much in surveying and platting, probably more than any other man in the state, and fully demonstrated his ability that he has frequently been called upon as an expert. Many of the original surveys in the White Mountain region were made by him. Studying law, he began practice in 1855, in which he has continued ever since. Liberal in religion and a sound Democrat in politics, he has represented all the various town offices, including chairman of the board of selectmen. For twenty years; served as county commissioner from 1856 to 1859, inclusive; judge of probate, 1874 to 1877 (he is said to have been the best for length of service the county has ever had) ; member of the legislature twelve terms, from 1857 to 1869; of the senate in 1870 to 1872 and president of that body during his second term. He enjoys the distinction of being the only citizen who has been honored by a seat in three constitutional conventions. Another circumstance concerning the Pitman family is worthy of note: Judge Pitman , his father Joseph , and his son Lycurgus , three generations, have each been chosen state senator. Judge Pitman has been for many years a man of extensive influence, as s shown by the record of his serving so many terms in important positions. His dignified appearance and affable and genial nature have made him a favorite among the people; while his sterling integrity, ripened judgment, and large experience in public and private affairs have made him a desirable representative to protect their interests. Hazen Pitman's Pequawket House Walter Pitman's Residence in Intervale. In 1938 it became Matthews Inn until 1942 when it became a private residence. Walter Pitman's, Pitman Hall - opened 1889 - burned 1930 Pitman Hall Garage George Gale and wife Ella Pitman Gale operated the Maple Villa. It was said Ella did most of the work. It was located opposite today's New England Inn. Walter Pitman's - Pitman Hall Benjamin Pitman's residence built 1800. Ben's son, John, inherited the house in 1848, never married and at his death left the house to a Mr. Howard, the handyman. In 1890 Mr. Howard sold to Uriah Ballard Russell and his wife Ann. By 1892 they were operating it as an Inn, and so it remained until 1953. The next owner was Uriah's son, Thomas C. Russell. The Russell's sold the property in 2014. Photo courtesy Tommy Russell Editors Note: If you find errors, omissions or just plain lies in any of my transcribed articles please take a moment to let me know using the contact link in the menu bar. Suggested additions are welcome too. Thanks, Dave Sources: Incidents in White Mountain history - by Rev. Benjamin G. Willey https://www.ancestry.com › genealogy › records › levi-chubbuck_91882748 "The History of Carroll County", 1889, Georgia Drew Merrill brooklyncentre.com › trees › getperson Bartlett NH - In the Valley of the Saco - Aileen Carroll - 1990 Lucy Crawford's History of the White Mountains - circa 1860 REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS OF The State of New Hampshire • BOSTON - NEW ENGLAND HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 15 COURT SQUARE 1902 Early Settlers Stillings - Garland - Chubbick Emery - Pitman Hall - Pendexter - Tasker - Seavey George - Gilly - Fox - Willey
- Village Area Pg 5 | bartletthistory
Share The Village Area of Bartlett Page 5 "Street Scenes" Upper Bartlett Glen Area Cooks Crossing Goodrich Falls Jericho Intervale Dundee West Side Road Village Area Page 1 Village Area Page 2 Village Area Page 3 Village Area Page 4 Village Area Page 5 Sawyer's Rock vicinity. Picture at left is looking east. Picture at right is looking west. Saco River on the right. Driving past this spot today you will note that Sawyer's Rock has been nearly obliterated to make way for people who want to get where they are going faster. Rte 302 looking west. Mountain Home Cabins in the distance. Silver Spring Cottage is on the right. The Village is about a half mile in the opposite direction. Date is about 1920. Rte 302 looking east. Sawyer's Rock would be just around the bend. Saco River on left. Probably about 1900. In Upper Bartlett is a neat little edifice, known as the " Chapel of the Hills," (picture below) built through the efforts of Rev. Mr. Souther among the people of the place, aided with a handsome contribution of three hundred dollars from a Mrs. Snow; who, however, died a short time before this object of her pious munificence was attained. The house was dedicated January 21, 1854, the interesting occasion calling together a large attendance, notwithstanding the deep snows of the mountain roads. Source: http://genealogytrails.com/newham/carroll/history.html Main Street dated 1896, looking west at Mt Carrigain. That much is a definite fact. We have had some friendly diebate about how the church fits into this picture. This editor has found that it was called "The Chapel of the Hills" . At the time of this photo it was on the front lawn of today's school. It was later moved across the street where it remains to this day (2019) but without the Bell Tower. About 1800 Obed Hall's Tavern was said to be in this area. Obed was one of the early prominent pioneers, arriving in Bartlett Village in 1793. His Tavern was in this area. The large building on the right is in the area where the Cave Mountain House was located, and one of those buildings is probably it. It was built in 1890 and burned in 1905. Source Material, "The Latchstring Was Always Out" Aileen M. Carroll - 1994 Page 12 Albany Avenue, 1920; looking north. The photographer would have been standing near the railroad tracks Village Area Page 1 Village Area Page 2 Village Area Page 3 Village Area Page 4 Village Area Page 5 Main Street 1909 - Looking West. This is the corner of Main and River Street. The horse watering trough is still there, Main Street looking West Main Street Looking West Caption says "Main Street Looking North". I'd guess they meant "Looking West". What Not Shop and Mobil Gas on the left. The George house is on the right behind the trees, The red roof is.>>________?________ Albany Ave from Railroad Square, Congregational Church stairs visible on left, Building on right is the Post Office and the Howard Hotel. dated 1915. Main Street 1909 - Looking West. This is the corner of Main and River Street. The horse watering trough is still there, Main Street 1945 - Sign says "Howard Hotel" Village Area Page 1 Village Area Page 2 Village Area Page 3 Village Area Page 4 Village Area Page 5 Main Street near Woodbine Cottage Inn, Looking east. Who are those two young kids standing by the street? Also, note the method of hanging streetlights back then... River Street Bridge, Dated 1909. On the larger version (click) there is a drainage pipe of some sort on the right, emptying into the river...it is still there today. What does it drain? Route 302 looking west in the vicinity of today's North Colony Motel. Late 1940's Village Area Page 1 Village Area Page 2 Village Area Page 3 Village Area Page 4 Village Area Page 5
- Railroad 3 | bartlett nh history
Glen - Jackson Station More Railroad Pages - Menu Top Right... We are working on this page The Portland and Ogdensburg Railroad built the first station here, originally named Glen in the spring of 1873. It and today's station are located 64.73 miles from Portland. I could find no pictures of the original building. The only proof it existed is in the P&O Stockholders Report of 1874. In 1889, one year after the Maine Central Railroad leased the P&O, a new station with a restaurant, ticket office, western union office, and men and ladies waiting rooms were constructed. The sidings opposite the platform side of the depot and including one spur out beside the east end of the station had a capacity of 83 cars. Logs were brought in 2-3 times a day from the Rocky Branch Logging Railroad from 1908-1914.and were transferred to Maine Central log cars. The Station was closed on January 22, 1950. Today, the Glen and Jackson station survives but does not serve a Railroad. It is owned by the Hickory Hawks Ski Club of Melrose, Massachusetts. Scotty Mallett has researched and written the information on this page. Intervale Station Glen Jackson Station 1912 looking southeast. Photo courtesy Jane English Source: History of Carroll County - Georgia Drew Merrill - 1889 This video is mis-labeled. Apparently the video-guy thought he was in Intervale but this is actually taken at the Glen - Jackson Station looking west. There are many more pictures at the Facebook Page "MEC RR MT DIVISION". Mountain Division at Facebook More Railroad Pages - Menu Top Right...
- Eastern Slope Signals 1960's | bartlett nh history
Signal Link Eastern Slope Signal Newspaper Titles are on each page in red. Click on page to see full screen larger version. On that screen you can enlarge to make it more readable. You may also download the image to your computer if desired. This editor has selected some of the more interesting articles to display here. They are sequenced by date. Designed for desktop computers. May be difficult on your phone. The Eastern Slope Signal was published weekly only December to March from 1963 to 1967. It was usually 8 pages per issue. It was published by the local radio station, WBNC, in Conway. Skip Sherman was the editor and it was printed at the Reporter Press Newspaper building in North Conway. Your website editor, Dave Eliason, in High School at the time, delivered the paper every Friday afternoon/evening to all the significant businesses on the northern route from North Conway to Wildcat and Bartlett Village. Skip did the Southern route as far as Osippee. It was a very popular publication at the time. 1962 dickstimpsonExpandsRacing.jpg 1962 Intervale Ski Area expands. Dick Stimpson photo 1963Dec WhittierGondolaNewAddition 01.jp Dec 1963: New Gondola opens at Whittier in West Ossippee 1963DecFisherPalmer.jpg 1963: Robert Fisher and Bob Palmer get in some early skiing. 1963_CranmoreChristinsChairlift.jpg 1963: Cranmore Schneider family christens chairlift 1963_ISA_Extends_Poma.jpg 1963 Intervale Ski Area Extends Poma Lift.- 1963_J_Holland_Beal_ColumbusDayBlizzardP 1963 J Holland Beal "The Columbus Day Blizzard". Page 1 1963_J_Holland_Beal_ColumbusDayBlizzardP 1963: J. Holland Beal "Columbus Day Blizzard" Page 2. Also, George Burgess old ski instructor gets job that won't fade away. 1963_WildcatNewChairLift.jpg 1963 Wildcat gets new chairlift 1963_bigbearstockapprovedjan1963.jpg 1963: Big Bear stock approved by Securities Exchange Committee 1963_clarendoninnfire1963.jpg 1963 Clarendon Inn Burns 1963clarendoninnfire.jpg 1963 Clarendon fire Page 2 1963_sleddogBelford1963.jpg 1963 Sled Dog races 1963_sleddogTamworth.jpg 1963: Sled dogs in Tamworth. 1963_sleddogLombardiJan63Pg2.jpg 1963 Sled Dog races Page 2. 1963_sleddogTamworthPg3.jpg 1963: Sled dogs - Page 3 1964_DEC_Attitash nears completion PG2.j 1964: Attitash nears completion. 1964_DEC_Attitash nears completion.jpg 1964: Attitash nears completion, opening soon. Page 2 1964_BigBear Stock Approved.jpg 1963bigbearstockapprovedPage1.jpg 1963: Big Bear ski area in Bartlett gets the green light to sell stock. Page 1 1964_BigBear Stock Approved Page2.jpg 1964: Big Bear Stock approval, Page 2 1963bigbearstockPage2.jpg 1963: Big Bear stock, Page 2 1963snowmobilebornWOssipee.jpg 1963: Snowmobile history in West Ossipee 1964_Dr_Shedd.jpg 1964: Dr. Shedd, famous doctor of broken bones. 1964DrSheddPage2.jpg 1964: Dr. Shedd, renowned bone doctor. Page 2 1964FranSavard_ISA.jpg 1964: Fran Savard takes up skiing again at Intervale Ski Area. Out of gallery
- Pictures Only | bartletthistory
pictures only A few readers have told me they just want to see pictures...no long winded explanations of the subject matter. I always listen to suggestions and have created this gallery of pictures. For those who get stumped as to what they are looking at, click the picture and you're at the explanation. Take me to the Picture Show Link opens in a new window.
- MAPS / old and new | bartletthistory
Maps: historic and current Take me to the MAPS Page If you like old maps this page is for you. The David Rumsey Collection includes high resolution maps for many areas and many time periods. We have also found other historic maps from various sources. The Harts Location Website has included an Axis-Gis map which is current. It shows property lines, owners, water and soil resources. It's a fascinating experience.
- Scotty's Big Pigs | bartletthistory
Scotty Calls Them "Big Pigs" Actually, "Pigs" is not unique Scotty language. They were nicknamed " pigs" because the locomotives had to have 2 firemen shoveling coal from when they departed Bartlett until they arrived at Crawford Depot. These locomotives 1201-1204 were class x. Locomotives 1202 and 1203 were assigned as helpers out of Bartlett and the reason the turntable was removed...(they were too big to use it) and the Bartlett Wye was constructed. The Mallet locomotive is a type of articulated steam railway locomotive , invented by the Swiss engineer Anatole Mallet (1837–1919). The articulation was achieved by supporting the front of the locomotive on an extended Bissel truck . The compound steam system fed steam at boiler pressure to high-pressure cylinders driving the main set of wheels. The exhaust steam from these cylinders was fed into a low-pressure receiver and was then sent to low-pressure cylinders that powered the driving wheels on the swiveling bogie. Class X 2-6-6-2 Mallet Articulated locomotives “The Pigs” Written and researched by Scotty Mallett - Special thanks to Jerry Kelley In 1910 and 1911 the Maine Central Railroad purchased 4 large locomotives from the Boston and Maine Railroad . These locomotives were built in 1910 for use in the Hoosac Tunnel but became surplus when the tunnel became electrified in 1911. Numbered 1201-1204, The locomotives were “articulated” allowing to take the sharp turns of the “Mountain Division”. The 1202 was assigned to helper service out of Bartlett. The east end of the Wye in Bartlett was constructed, and the turntable removed and Stall 1 (Route 302 side) was lengthened to 105’ Upon arrival on the B&M 1201-1204 were fueled by coal and then converted to Bunker C oil which left a greasy film on fresh laundry and on houses. It also caused oil related fires which could only be extinguished by steam from another locomotive, so in 1912 all 4 Mallets (pronounced Mal lay) were converted by the Maine Central shops back to coal. From then on it took 2 firemen shoveling coal into the firebox constantly to create enough steam to power these giants. The crews of the Maine Central Railroad called them “pigs” as they ate so much coal. These locomotives were so large that 2 of them could not be run together as their combined weight was too much for some off the Trestles and Bridges and they also had a 20-mile an hour speed restriction on the entire Maine Central Railroad system. In 1917 at South Windham, Maine mallet # 1203 was involved in a head on collision with another train due to misunderstood train orders. 1203 was rebuilt and lasted in service longer than all the mallets. The 1201, 1202 and 1204 were scrapped in 1929 and the 1203 was scrapped January 15,1931. Here are some statistics: Length: 86 feet Height: (to top of stack) 14 feet 86 inches Weight: more than 200 tons - still under research Oil use: 10 gallons a mile Class details: Class Details HOOSAC TUNNEL The Mallett 1201. This engine was used to deliver groceries to the Mt Willard Section House, among other things. Photo courtesy Robert Giroud's Ray Evans collection
- Cooks Crossing | bartletthistory
Upper Bartlett Glen Area Cooks Crossing Goodrich Falls Jericho Intervale Dundee West Side Road
- COMMERCE VILLAGE 1890-1960 | bartletthistory
Commerce in Bartlett 1890 to 1960 Upper Village Area Albany Avenue From 1900 to the early 1980's every day in Bartlett Village began with the 7 a.m. steam whistle at the Peg Mill which could be easily heard for several miles around. The noon break was similarly begun, and the day ended, at 5 p.m. when the final whistle of the day was sounded. For many, life revolved around the plaintive signal from the Mill. When the first settlers arrived in Bartlett in the 1790's today's Upper Village was the "end of the line" as far as passable roads were concerned. It was not until 1807 when the Tenth Mountain Turnpike was completed through Crawford Notch that the Village became an important mid-way point along the way from Lancaster to Portland. It opened the way for artists and writers to more easily visit the area and through their written accounts and paintings the tourist industry was born. Teamsters in great caravans a quarter mile long, sometimes stopped in the Village and several stage lines also brought travelers who would stay the night before continuing through the Notch. It would be another seventy years until the boom generated by the railroad passing through town gave the Village a memorable boost. Before the railroad came to Bartlett most activity revolved around self sufficient farming and small lodging houses. The population was about 670 in all of Bartlett. With the coming of the Portland and Ogdensburg Railroad in 1873, The Village of Bartlett realized a dramatic increase in population and commerce. The demand increased more when the railroad was completed through Crawford Notch in 1875. Unlike today, 100 years ago Bartlett Village was a bustling place. By 1890 the population was about 1200 but that number was about triple that during the summer months. The precise history of exactly where many of the business were located is sketchy however; In 1893 (or 1896 depending which story you believe) the entire Village business district was destroyed by a fire that spread with lightening like rapidity. Within 2-½ hours but one store was left in the place. Fourteen families had been burned out and the Maine Central Railway Station, restaurant, and freight depot, together with the post office were destroyed. The other principal losses included: Mr. & Mrs. Foster, general store, -P.J. Martin, general store, - F. Garland, drugs and jewelry, -E.O. Garland building -J. Emery house, - J. Head house -H.E. Brooks grocery store, -H.L. Towle’s building, - A.L. Meserve building, -Miss Emily A. Merserve's tenement block, - Miss Bates, millinery. The primary point being that most of the buildings in the Village Business area must be newer than the 1893 fire. Considering the great numbers of businesses that thrived here it is a little surprising that so few of them are remembered in any great detail or even where they were located. Below is Albany Ave, 1915, looking North. Church steps on left, Post Office on the right and Howard Hotel. Various sources identify these businesses as existing in the Village area about 1890: (We might assume that many of these were destroyed in the 1893 fire) George Brothers Drygoods, Gents Furnishings, Boots and Shoes; P.J. Martin, Clothing, Gents Furnishings and Undertaking; W.S.Foster - Livery & Boarding Stable; Frank Simono, Barber & Shoemaker; P. Fortier, Barber; H.L. Brooks & Co. Groceries-Meats-Provisions; E. Sarson, General Store E.O. Garland General Mdse; Garland, Howard & Co, General Merchandise; Ed Butler, Groceries, Confectionery & Cigars; F.E. Garland, Drugs & Jewelry; Geo. M. Knowles, Newsroom & Barber By the 1920's the following business names were added to the list: The Howard Garage, repairs and gasoline, air and storage; Garland's Ice Cream Parlor and Tea Room; James Donahue's General Store; Garland Bros. Drug Store; In addition to these endeavors the Village also had a movie theater showing first "the silents" followed years later by "the talkies" , a pool room, a Village Band, two Doctors, two Churches and there was a bowling alley on River Street. The Bartlett Free Public Library (established in 1896) was housed on the lower level of the Congregational Church. The Village also had its own jail located just off Albany Avenue on the south side of the railroad tracks. One must remember that during these days there were no paved roads between Bartlett and Portland and most traffic came and went by train. Additionally there were at least a dozen Inns and lodging places in the Village that served the travelling public. For a time, Upper Bartlett Village was "the place to be", out-ranking nearby North Conway, which holds that distinction today. Garland's Store, Barbershop and Post Office on Albany Ave. No Date was provided but probably in the 1940-1950 range. Garlands was a drug store, but also sold clothing, footwear and hardware. This building is on Albany Avenue, just across the tracks on the right...Most recently it has been transformed to apartments. The brown building at the center of the lower picture was most recently Jacobson's Grocery Store. Now (2019) the building is gone and now a vacant lot. Sidebar Pictured above is the G.K. Howard Store, also on Albany Avenue. Later it was The General Thermostat Factory. Driving south on Albany Ave towards Bear Notch Road it was just across the tracks on the left. Today there are some condo type units in the same spot. There was a building just before the tracks on the right that housed Wimpy Thurston's Grocery Store, later operated by the Jacobson's. The building looked similar to the GK Howard Store but without the dormers. Today that site is an empty lot. Mr. Howard at his office, below. The line down the right side of the picture is not a wrinkle...it's an electric wire. Granville K Howard Mr. Howard was born in Hartford, Vt., in 1864, he was graduated from Dartmouth in the class of 1886 and always kept up his interests in the activities of the college. In 1887 he married Nellie Bailey of Landgrove, Vt., and two years later he moved to Bartlett. From that time until his retirement in 1946 he was active in business, conducting a general store. In 1912 he built the Howard Hotel, which would later be known as the Bartlett Hotel. He owned "Howard's Camps" , which later became Silver Springs Campground. The Dunrovin Inn was originally the private Residence of GK Howard and before he opened the Howard Hotel he had taken in travelers at this location. Mr. Howard held many town offices, having served as selectman and as a member of the school board. He was instrumental in forming the Bartlett Water Precinct of which he was treasurer for 51 years. Always interested in the welfare of the town, one of his last acts was to give a plot of land opposite the hotel for a public park . For many years he was active in Osceola Lodge, I. O. O. F., He died in November of 1949. The Dunrovin Inn: G.K. Howard's Inn and Residence. Photo about 1940. --------------------------------- Howard's Camp , later Silver Springs Campground. 1920's: Albany Avenue looking north towards today's Route 302. The storefront was later to be Wimpy Thurston's grocery store, followed by Jacobson's grocery store and thereafter it was briefly used as living space for Peter Marcoux with a youth center downstairs. It was later demolished and is an empty lot today (2019). I don't know what store it may have been at the time of this photo, the identifying signs are not readable, even when enlarged. The building next door is the Garland Hotel and next to that is the Union Congregational Church . Across from the Church was the former James Donahue General Store , which later became Mallett's Grocery Store. 1920's: Railroad Square. The railroad tracks are just off to the right of this picture. The first house on left was where Helen Hayes lived and took in boarders. The house burned in the 1980's and was replaced with the building that is there today (2019). Next to that, with the flat roof, is the I.O.O.F (Independent Order of Odd Fellows) Hall. It was also used by the Knights of Pythias. It also had a movie theater and stage for live performances. The Lloyd Chandlers live in the next house today. The steeple (if that's what it's called) of the School is visible at right top. During the 1950's and 60's the foreground area was a popular spot for impromptu baseball games on weekends or after school. With the lack of an umpire some games became very contentious often ending with the owner of the balls and bats taking his equipment and going home. Some residents of that time period might remember playing "cowboys and Indians " in the woods, a popular game, however, in Bartlett, it was played with real guns...(although probably not loaded). Meanwhile, out on main street..... In the 1930's The Main Street through Bartlett was dominated by elm trees, residences, Inns, a few restaurants and bars and automobile service stations. In 1854, Bartlett's first church, The Chapel of the Hills , occupied a spot in front of today's school. An establishment on Main Street known as the Red Rooster had a reputation as a popular "drinking" spot. A bit later, a similar establishment known as The Main Street Restaurant was operated by Eleanor Macumber across the street from Howard's Texaco . Farther west on Main Street, Bob Davis operated a home heating oil business. Bartlett Village streets were lined with mature elm trees up until the mid 1940's when the Dutch Elm disease decimated them and none remain today. Fred and Grace Garland operated Garland's Tea Room, and later it was a restaurant and ice cream parlor know simply as "Garlands". It also had a few cabins, some of which are still there today. This restaurant operated until the early 1970's and was destroyed by fire. It was located just west of today's Post Office. The What Not Shop was operated by Franklin and Almeda George from the mid 1940's. True to it's name, the store carried practically everything one could want in those days and even had an ice cream soda parlor. For quite a time they sold gasoline out front. Franklin was the Town tax collector in those days and he operated that activity from the store as well. Franklin and his wife lived right across the street in the same house that his ancestors operated as an Inn in the mid 1800's. After Franklin's death the store was operated by Dottie Howard for a few years and then by David & Debby Phanauef , who renamed it to the Bear Notch Deli. David later sold the store to The Ryans . In January of 2009 the store was completely destroyed by fire caused by an electrical problem. The top photo of the What Not Shop is from the mid 1950's The Beginning of changing times. As quickly as prosperity arrived, it departed almost as quickly, when rail passenger service on the Maine Central was discontinued in 1958. By 1983 freight service also ended and the Village fell silent, although most of the residents remained. It is interesting to note the overall decline in merchandise and service businesses from 1960 through 2020; even though the overall Town population has nearly tripled over that time span the population of the Upper Village area has remained about the same, at least as near as can be told by outward appearances. It is estimated that fewer than 500 people reside in the immediate Village area. This has been a result of changing modes of transportation and the centralization of businesses closer to the major population centers..(i.e. the Conway area) . The economic realities of operating a business in smaller local's took its toll on the Upper Village area. When zoning was implemented in the 1980's all of Albany Avenue was zoned residential, thus excluding any business activities. Despite the changes over the years it seems today's residents of the Village area are quite content with everything just as it is. The tourist industry has seen a significant change as travelers tastes and demands changed the smaller Inns and lodgings decreased correspondingly. Bartlett as a whole has prospered as Attitash and Storyland became the focus of attention supporting both the tourist business and a boom in condominium and second home construction and ownership in the town.
- Christmas Cards | bartletthistory
Card Images Order Form Fine Print
- RAILROADS | bartletthistory
We are working on this page More Railroad Pages - Menu Top Right... We are working here....check back later.
PO BOX 514
Bartlett, N.H. 03812