this Search won't find everything.
But it might find what you want
check the main index also
138 items found for ""
- Bartlett History | United States | Bartlett Nh History
MEMBERSHIP & INFO CONTACT & GUESTBOOK FIND TOPIC PEOPLE PLACES THINGS RAILROADS More Mt Washington Valley Chamber of Commerce Member , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , Bartlett 'most boring town'? Locals beg to differ Story Here Current Information & Events Click this box to go directly to credit card donor form If you want to donate without looking through all the details JUST CLICK HERE . November 2023 FOCUS It's Time To Join or Renew Your Membership for 2024 It takes only 5 minutes if you use your credit card Join Or Renew DONATE TO MUSEUM NOW Announcing Our 2024 Public Presentations November Museum Update To Read the report, scroll inside the text box OR use the slider on the right hand side. Notice other Options in the upper black border area. ___ INTERESTING TAL ES ________________________________________ FALL 2023 NEWSLETTER - Rob & Marion Owen-Clowning Around (page 5) ----------------------------------------- Much has been wr itten abo ut the Evans Family who resided at the Mt Willard Section House yet we don't hear so much about others who raised their families next to the tracks. Joseph and Florence Monahan were one such couple who raised their six daughters at the Willie House Station Flagstop, two miles east of the Evans family. Read their interesting story Here . The Youngest Monahan Daughter, Agatha, wrote her memories of "Happenings Growing Up By The Railroad Tracks at Willey House" when she was 88 years old. It's a fascinating story of how different life was more than 100 years ago. __ Read her story here Remember The Mountain Ear Newspaper? There are more than 100 excellently researched articles of local interest at this lin k. We can thank Jane Golden and Steve Eastman and many others for this historically valuable collection. This link will open in a new window. The President of your Historical Society, Phil Franklin, doesn't talk much about himself, so this editor sought out some details about Phil. He had a long career with the Hartford Insurance and Aetna Insurance Companies as a Senior Administrator and Program Director in Connecticut. He attended Providence College and Xavier High School in Middletown, CT. Phil is no stranger to the world of volunteerism and the act of giving back , not only to those things that enabled his own success, but community endeavors as well. You can read his volunteer philosophy at this link: (There are some nice pictures too.) "As a long time volunteer at Xavier he never stopped giving back." When Phil and wife, Sue, moved to Bartlett they said "We're not just moving to Bartlett to be here- We're moving here to be part of the community." During his time in Bartlett he served four years as Chairman of the Bartlett Planning Board (2015-2019). He's on the Board of Directors for the Stillings Grant Homeowners Assoc and is a contributing writer for the Mt. Washington Valley Vibe magazine. Phil has been part of the Bartlett Historical Society since 2015. As you may know, Phil has been the instrumental force behind the renovation of the Catholic Church in the Village to be the new location for the Bartlett History museum. If you see Phil out and about, do some name dropping. He may be curious how you know so much about him. He knew that I was going to add something here...but I didn't tell him exactly what, or how much. Phil, Sue and Grandchildren Phil, Sue and the Snowroller Project Meetings The News of Days Gone By At Bartlett, N.H. No One Covers the Bartlett News Better Than The Bartlett Express: Click box>> Your Directors meet once a month and anyone with an interest is welcome to attend. Meetings are held at the Basement Meeting Room at the Village Congregational Church. We normally post the date and time here, but if not, call Phil Franklin at 603 374 5023. Do you have any interesting stories or pictures to share ?? We would like to highlight them on this website. Send To Dave at his email address; Dave@bartletthistory.org Here is a slide show of 15 images that show our recent work in progress on your museum. We thank ALL our donors for making this work possible. Advances in 5 seconds. Or click arrow to advance. Click image to view in new window. 1 Site work for ADA Ramp 1 Site work for the new ADA mobility ramp that is being installed plus a sidewalk to connect to the adjacent parking lot 2 Coleman Concrete 2 Coleman Concrete truck on site to pour the concrete. Coleman Concrete donated the concrete for the ramp slab 15 Manchester Union 01_20_1903 15 Closeup of one copy of the Manchester Union dated January 20, 1903 found under the clapboards; Here’s a mystery – How did a 1903 newspaper get under clapboards that were supposed to be installed in 1890? 1 Site work for ADA Ramp 1 Site work for the new ADA mobility ramp that is being installed plus a sidewalk to connect to the adjacent parking lot 1/15 SCROLL HERE SCROLL HERE The Bartlett History Museum . It's been a remarkable journey, the community support has been fabulous and we want to share our progress with everyone. To that end we have created an updated section of new information, pictures and a current budget showing how we have spent your donations thus far and how much more we need to get the doors open. For the Museum Project Information, Click Here WE STILL NEED YOUR HELP If you want to donate now without looking through all the details JUST CLICK HERE . We have made your gifting a little easier; We can now securely process your donation to your credit card directly from this website... ...easy... If you missed the Peter Limmer Presentation you can watch it here. "The History of Limmer & Sons, Custom Hiking Boot Makers" Share Bartlett History Peter Limmer Presentation 1-9-2022 (2) (1) Play Video Facebook Twitter Pinterest Tumblr Copy Link Link Copied Are You Looking For The Quar terly Newsletters ? Find Them Here Remember The Mountain Ear Newspaper? There are more than 100 excellently researched articles of local interest at this link. We can thank Jane Golden and Steve Eastman and many others for this historically valuable collection. This link will open in a new window. Mt Ear Chronicles You might notice the website address ends in NET, whereas our primary site ends in ORG. It has a different website address but it is still your Bartlett History website. We are slowly migrating all the "Dot Org" information to the "Dot Net" platform. We doubt you'll notice jumping from one platform to the other. Bear with us as this transition continues. The hosting and domain fees for both sites have been donated by your web-site editor. Thank you for visiting. Dave Eliason is your website editor. He always welcomes new content, so send him something . Criticism, comment or factual corrections are also welcome. Dave donates the entire cost of supporting and maintaining this website so your dues can be used for other pressing needs. We also thank Scotty Mallett for his contributions to the railroad section. His knowledge of that history is invaluable. Pinkham Notch Rte 16 as it was in the very early 1900's nkham
- Railroad Stations in Bartlett
More Railroad Pages - Menu Top Right... Scotty Mallett is progressing on the task of sharing his extensive knowledge of the history of the railroads in Bartlett. Please check back periodically to gauge his progress. Be sure to "re-load" pages to be sure you are seeing the most recent updates. Train Stations Bartlett had three train station stops The Intervale Station is on Intervale Crossroads - opposite the scenic vista. The Glen-Jackson Station was located behind today's Red Parka Pub. It is now a ski club. The Bartlett Station was in the Village on Railroad Street behind today's school. It only remains as a memory. We have devoted a separate page for each station. Click the blue button for more details. INTERVALE STATION GLEN JACKSON STATION BARTLETT VILLAGE STATION The Bartlett Village Station - 1909 More Railroad Pages - Menu Top Right... There are many more pictures at the Facebook Page "MEC RR MT DIVISION". Mountain Division at Facebook
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , Bits and Pieces About Livermore The U-Tube video below features Tom Monahan, of Lancaster, who remembers Livermore. His father attended 12 years of school at Livermore and was later a supervisor for the Sawyer River Railroad. Tom recollects memories from the 1940's. This video is dated 08 October 2010. (If it doesn't appear below, SEE IT HERE) If you go to the YouTube website and search fo r Livermore NH you will find a few more "fair to good" videos that folks have shared. Livermore Menu Introduction Timeline 1865-1965 Sawyer River Railroad Saunders Family Nicholas Norcross Shackfords Owners Howarth Card Collection Lumbering Practices Legal Problems Peter Crane Thesis Bits and Pieces
- Membership-Join-Renew | bartlett nh history society
It's Time To Join or Renew Your Membership for 2023 Click the Link Below, Print the Form, Drop in the Mail Join Or Renew Membership Skip the Printing and Mailing; Put It on Your Credit Card Charge my Credit Card Share this page with friends Please become a member in 2024. You can join with only a $20 contribution. Membership is valid for one full year, January to December Just click the green box above for a simple form you can print and mail to us OR Put it on your credit card.
- School history | bartlett NH | school house history
Share Schools In Bartlett. Schools Page 1 Schools Page 2 Back in the "old days" the students were not brought to the school...the school was brought to the student. In 1897 Bartlett had six schools so most students were within a couple of miles of "their" school. From town report for the fiscal year ending February 27, 1897, No. 1 - Lower Bartlett; No. 2 - Glen; No. 3 - Garland Ridge No. 4 - Kearsarge; No. 5 - Hill Town; No. 6 - Goodrich Falls We assume that each of the district school houses was of the one-room variety in 1897. Four of the one-room school houses in these districts are depicted on the afghan (pic below): Lower Bartlett, Glen, Garland Ridge and Goodrich Falls. No. 1 - Lower Bartlett - The Intervale (Lower Bartlett) School, the only one-room school still in existence, is now a private residence. It is located on Route 16A in the Intervale area of Bartlett. That school was replaced with the Intervale Grammar School, built in 1938. This school educated the children of Intervale, Glen and Goodrich Falls until its closing in the late 1950s. That building, located in the lower left corner of the afghan (pic. below), still exists and now houses the Bartlett Town Hall and Town Offices. No. 2 - Glen - The Glen School was located on Route 302 approximately halfway between the Massa Schussers Ski Club and Jericho Road. It appears on the afghan thanks to Vivian Robinson Eastman and Isabelle Dana Crouse, who described the building as they recalled it when they attended school there. No. 3 - Garland Ridge - The Garland Ridge School was located along Stony Brook, which is located between the Attitash Ski Area and Roger’s Crossing, (the railroad crossing east of Bartlett Village). Thanks to Jean Garland, who provided us with an old photograph from the Library files, we were able to sketch a likeness of that one-room school house for the afghan. No. 4 - Kearsarge - The Kearsarge School was located on what is now known as Hurricane Mountain Road, approximately half way between Mt. Surprise Road and Timberline Road. In the late 1800s the building is said to have been moved across the street into Conway, and Bartlett paid Conway tuition for the Kearsarge children to attend school there. This arrangement was continued until the 1930s. A time-worn photograph of this school is located in the history files at the Bartlett Library. No. 5 - Hill Town - The Hill Town District is located on West Side Road, approximately two miles east of the Route 302/West Side Road intersection. (more info HILL TOWN ). All that remains of that settlement is an old graveyard and the evidence of a few of the homes. The descendants of Brian Hill and Priscilla Drown Ward, early settlers of that area, still live in Bartlett. According to the 1897 report, $15.00 was expended to move the old school and $331.96 for labor and materials was expended to build a new school in the Hill District. Unfortunately, we were unable to locate a photo of either of these buildings for the 2008 afghan. No. 6 - Goodrich Falls - The Goodrich Falls School was located on old Route 16 just south of the home formerly owned by the McGraw family. We now have a pretty good idea of school days at Goodrich Falls, thanks to Marion Morton Randall, quite possibly the last known person, now living, to attend that school. Special District No. 5 - Bartlett Village - Bartlett Village Grammar School (located in the upper right-hand corner of the afghan) was built circa 1880, renovated in 1896 and burned in February 1931. The building was replaced with another in 1932. That building, titled Bartlett Grammar/High School is located in the upper right corner on the afghan. Bartlett High School was built circa 1922-23, and is located in the upper left corner of the afghan and called Bartlett High/Grammar School. It served in that capacity until circa 1949, when it became the grammar school. The high school moved into the grammar school building and was located there until its closing in 1958. Intervale School Demo 2014 This photo is captioned, "The Glen School". The large building appears to be the church so I assume the shack like building is the school. ? Any thoughts dear reader ??? The society commissioned an afghan blanket that featured the historic Bartlett Schoolhouses, pictured below. Six of the schoolhouse images on this afghan no longer exist, two still exist but as other than schools, and the center medallion represents the current school. Schools in Bartlett - More Details THE OLD BARTLETT SCHOOL HOUSE on HURRICANE MOUNTAIN ROAD One of our 2018 Newsletters featured an article about this little remembered school on Hurricane Mountain Road, now a private residence. Thank you, BHS Board Director, J. Hadley Champlin & BHS Advisor, Anne Pillion for writing this story. Scroll down to page 6 to begin the story. (Link opens in a new window) Hurrican Mountain Road School This Postcard is the Bartlett High School in the mid 1920's. Good luck deciphering the handwriting. This photo is the Bartlett Elementary and Junior High School in the early 1960's. There was a gymnasium on the upper floor. Catholic Church and the Dudley house are on this side of railroad tracks. The Bellerose house is across the railroad tracks.. Schools Page 1 Schools Page 2 In the early years education did not rank very high in the priorities settlers assigned to surviving life in the wilderness. The general consensus was that there was not money, time or manpower to educate children. When Josiah Bartlett became Governor in 1805 he encouraged the State Legislature to enact School Districting, which essentially forced all of the State's communities to provide for the education of its populace. The State provided some funding for each district based on which ones needed it most, but the funding was never sufficient to cover all the costs. In the case of Bartlett, with its six districts, the voters were constantly arguing over how to divide up the funds. Raising tax money for schools was always a very difficult task and the tax collector had his work cut out for him to persaude folks to actually pay the taxes. In 1812 the town residents vetoed a proposal to raise $25 for wood to heat the school buildings and instead, each scholor would furnish his proportional share of the wood by his own labor for the ensuing winter. Most students had to travel a long distance to get to the schools and the method of transportation was entirely up to their own devices. In one case a "school-bus" was designed that consisted of a hollowed out pine log, painted blue. about twelve small children could be huddled into it and it was towed by horses or oxen. Even by 1860 the Carroll County Commissioners characterized most of the school buildings as miserable shanties or shabby huts. The endurance of these early settlers is emphasized by todays standards where a student is not expected to walk much further than the end of his own driveway and if heat cannot be provided then the school is closed. If a student were asked to bring his own fuel to heat the school there would certainly be an uprising! The Shield was the High School Newsletter. 1958 marked the last graduating class. In 1959 the High School students were bussed to Kennett High School in Conway. This text was included in this issue of the Shield: School, by John Chandler Mr. Chandler attended Bartlett High School in the 1920's This article was written in the 1950's During the period during which the U.S. was developed considerable interest in providing educational facilities for students seeking high school diplomas. A few had been fortunate enough to avail themselves of higher education at schools in Conway, North Conway, Gorham (N.H.) and in Fryeburg and Portland, Me. After very careful planning, and having dredged all obvious alternatives, a small group of persons banded together to establish a two year high school. It was housed in the precinct building in Bartlett Village and a teacher was engaged to conduct classes in the subjects essential to meet State secondary schools standards. The first classes were held in September of 1922 , with 20 students enrolled. The teacher selected for this project was William Hounsell of Conway . This proved to be a very wise choice. He was an excellent teacher and was able to maintain discipline in difficult situations. He did a fine job in preparing the students for the final two years of high school. In September of 1924, a four year High School was established with a new building (part of the elementary school) and with William Hounsell as principal. The student body was made up mostly of underclassmen. Senior students were very limited in number. Inability of the older students to attend other schools after the two year program caused a spin-off into the job market and left only two potential senior students. When school opened in September, only one senior was enrolled. The other, (myself), having been elected captain of football at Kennett High School, and wishing to avail himself of this experience, decided to remain at Kennett . The situation changed when Christmas vacation rolled around and it appeared possible for this student to attend college, provided all resources were conserved toward that end. He therefore returned to Bartlett High School in January of 1925 to finish the year and graduate. This doubled the size of the first class of graduates from B.H.S. - from one to two! Both seniors went on to attend the University of New Hampshire as undergraduates. One went on to obtain advance degrees from Harvard University, while the other followed a career in electronics and aviation. After this lowly beginning, B.H.S. went on to successfully prepare students for advance study or life in an increasingly complex world. Bartlett High School numbers among its graduates persons who have successfully followed careers in business, science and research and persons who were later engaged in advancing education. Also included among B.H.S. graduates are many scattered about the world, among them are many high ranking military personnel. In the late 1950s, for economic and other reasons, the high school was discontinued and the students began to be bused to Kennett High School in Conway. This move made available to the students more varied curriculum's and modern facilities desirable to the learning process. Bartlett, in the opinion of one early graduate , can be justly proud of its young people’s accomplishments toward better education during the early 1920's. A careful study of the record seems to indicate that when it comes to a high school, big is not necessarily better. Mr. Chandler's Note: Bartlett High School graduates might be interested to know that William Hounsell (1898-1969) continued to further his career. He became the superintendent of schools in Penacook (N.H.) before he retired to Conway, where his widow, Hazel Towle Hounsell still makes her home. Schools Page 1 Schools Page 2
- Livermore NH - A Town That Time Forgot
- Livermore 2 Saunders | bartletthistory
Dan Saunders Bio Some of these pages are under construction Livermore Menu Introduction Timeline 1865-1965 Forever Livermore Article Sawyer River Railroad Saunders Family Nicholas Norcross Shackfords Owners Howarth Card Collection Lumbering Practices Legal Problems Peter Crane Thesis Bits and Pieces Daniel Saunders Biographical Sketch Source Material Boston Biographical Review HON. DANIEL SAUNDERS, senior member of the law firm of Daniel, Caleb & Charles G. Saunders, of Lawrence, Mass., was born in Andover, Essex County, October 6, 1822, the eldest son of the late Hon. Daniel Saunders, founder of the city of Lawrence. He is of early New Eng- land Colonial stock, being a lineal descendant of William Saunders, who, we are told, came from England in 1636, and in 1645 took up land at Mitchell's Eddy, on the Haverhill side, in the town of Newbury, Mass., where he was a permanent settler. James Saunders, the grandfather of Daniel, the special subject of this sketch, was born in Salem, N.H., July 12, 1751, and died in Stanstead, P.O., December 14, 1830. On November 15, 1774, he married Elizabeth Little, who was born March i, 1755, in Newbury, Mass., a daughter of Henry Little, and died in Salem, N.H., April 13, 1838. Henry Little also was of English extraction, and the representative of one of the old and prominent families of Essex County, an ancestor, several generations removed, having been the original owner of a Newbury farm that is still in the possession of his Little descendants. James Saunders and his wife had a family of twelve sons and one daughter. One son died in in- fancy, and one at the age of sixteen years. The ten sons remaining and the one daughter all married and reared children. One son, Caleb Saunders, became an early settler of Illinois, while three of his brothers located in Eastern New York. One of them, Henry Saunders, M.D., was for many years a prominent physician of Saratoga; another. Major William Saunders, a resident of Ballston Spa, was an officer in the War of 1812; another son, Samuel, was a carpenter on board the famous old ship "Constitution" in the same war. The Hon. Daniel Saunders was born in Salem, N.H., June 20, 1796, and when a young lad began working in a woollen-mill as an employee in the lowest department. He gradually became familiar with all branches of the industry; and, when ready to establish himself in business, he purchased a mill in North Andover, on the Cochicewick Brook, and later bought another in Concord, N.H. Becoming convinced in his mind that some time in the near future the falls in the Merrimac River between the present cities of Lawrence and Lowell would be utilized by manufacturers, he began in 1832 to verify by a personal inspection surveys which had previously been made for another purpose, that of estimating the expense of building locks and canals so that the river would be navigable for large boats of merchandise. His examinations still further convincing him of the possibility of the development of a large manufacturing district in this section, he sold his large mills in Concord and North Andover, and invested every penny he coulil lay his hands on in lands bordering on the Merrimac, in order that he might control the water power. Consulting then with his son Daniel, the subject of this sketch, as to the best means of calling the attention of the public to this most desirable location for mills, they decided to build a manufacturing plant themselves. In 1837, therefore, his legal adviser, the Hon. Josiah G. Abbott, then' a member of the General Court, secured for him an act incorporating the "Shawmut Mills" to be erected in Andover, not saying in what part. In the charter granted, the name of Saunders was not used, those of Caleb Abbott, Arthur Livermore, and John Nesmith only being apparent. Prominent manufacturers near by were then told of the grand water power. Samuel Lawrence and others of Lowell investigated the matter, and found two good places for damming the river, one at Peters Falls, the other at Bodwell's, the location of the present dam. The Merrimack River Water Power Association was soon after formed, with Daniel Saunders as president and manager of the company, which consisted of Mr. (afterward Judge) Hopkinson, Samuel Lawrence, John Nesmith, Daniel Saunders, Jr., Nathaniel Stevens, and Jonathan Tyler. The president of the company originated a plan for bonding the lands in the vicinity of both falls; and, when the present site was selected as the most favorable point for operations, the neighboring farms were purchased at a reasonable price. His own real estate, which he had previously bought, he sold at the original price plus simple interest on his investments, although, had not his high sense of honor forbidden him, he might have asked and received almost any sum. A large portrait of the Hon. Daniel Saunders, upon which is a tablet stating that he was the founder of the city of Lawrence, was presented to the city by his sons in April, 1888, and now graces the Akiermanic Chamber of the City Hall. On June, 1821, he married Phebe Foxcroft Abbott, who was born February 8, 1797, in Andover, Mass., and died March, 1890, in Lawrence. Her father, Caleb Abbott, was three times married ; and of his three unions there .were fifteen children. The maiden name of her mother was Lucy Lovejoy. Daniel and Phebe Foxcroft Saunders had five children, namely: Daniel, born October 6, 1822; Charles, who was born in June, 1824, and was extensively engaged in the manufacture of lumber in Lowell until his death in May, 1891; Martha, who died in childhood; Martha, the second, who also died at an early age; and Caleb, born September 4, 183S. On May 3, 1845, the parents removed from Andover to Lawrence, and, having settled on the farm previously purchased, there spent their remaining days, the father's death occurring October 8, 1872. Daniel Saunders, the younger, studied law with the Hon. Josiah G. Abbott, and was for some years closely associated with his late father in his various enterprises. He continued his law practice all the time, however, and is now at the head of one of the best known legal firms, of this section of Essex County. He was Mayor of Lawrence in i860, at the time of the fall of the Pemberton Mills. In commemoration of his distinguished services, in the care of those wounded at that time and the relief of the families of those killed, he was presented by the citizens of Lawrence, irrespective of parties, with a magnificent silver service, which he prizes as one of his most valuable treasures. He served a year as Senator, and also he has represented the city in the lower branch of the State legislature. Quick Summary of Saunders Family: The Saunders Family came from England in 1637 and went on to be the major players in the establishment of the mills in Lawrence and Lowell Massachusetts by recognizing the water power available on the Merrimack River. Their original company was The Merrimack River Water Power Association, which included Caleb Abbott, Arthur Livermore and John Nesmith. Daniel and Charles Saunders, the names associated with Livermore NH, were both prominent Harvard educated Boston Lawyers and were involved with The Essex Corporation and Shawmut Mills, still in existance today. Daniel was born in 1822 and Charles in 1824. Charles married into the prominent Norcross family of Lowell and Daniel married Mary Jane Livermore, also of Lowell. The Town of Livermore was probably named in her honor. Since both brothers were actively engaged in their legal professions it is questionable how much time they actually spent at Livermore. There is reference in Peter Crane's book that Daniel was often at Livermore in his later years and his family spent summers there. Daniel was also the Mayor of Lawrence, Ma in 1860. Daniel had five children, three of which were daughters, who remained unmarried. They are sometimes referred to as "the spinster sisters" who occupied the Saunders Mansion at Livermore. Read the whole story below, OR, view it at the original source, HERE . (Starts on page 858) Daniel Saunders Biographical Sketch Source Material Boston Biographical Review HON. DANIEL SAUNDERS, senior member of the law firm of Daniel, Caleb & Charles G. Saunders, of Lawrence, Mass., was born in Andover, Essex County, October 6, 1822, the eldest son of the late Hon. Daniel Saunders, founder of the city of Lawrence. He is of early New Eng- land Colonial stock, being a lineal descendant of William Saunders, who, we are told, came from England in 1636, and in 1645 took up land at Mitchell's Eddy, on the Haverhill side, in the town of Newbury, Mass., where he was a permanent settler. James Saunders, the grandfather of Daniel, the special subject of this sketch, was born in Salem, N.H., July 12, 1751, and died in Stanstead, P.O., December 14, 1830. On November 15, 1774, he married Elizabeth Little, who was born March i, 1755, in Newbury, Mass., a daughter of Henry Little, and died in Salem, N.H., April 13, 1838. Henry Little also was of English extraction, and the representative of one of the old and prominent families of Essex County, an ancestor, several generations removed, having been the original owner of a Newbury farm that is still in the possession of his Little descendants. James Saunders and his wife had a family of twelve sons and one daughter. One son died in in- fancy, and one at the age of sixteen years. The ten sons remaining and the one daughter all married and reared children. One son, Caleb Saunders, became an early settler of Illinois, while three of his brothers located in Eastern New York. One of them, Henry Saunders, M.D., was for many years a prominent physician of Saratoga; another. Major William Saunders, a resident of Ballston Spa, was an officer in the War of 1812; another son, Samuel, was a carpenter on board the famous old ship "Constitution" in the same war. The Hon. Daniel Saunders was born in Salem, N.H., June 20, 1796, and when a young lad began working in a woollen-mill as an employee in the lowest department. He gradually became familiar with all branches of the industry; and, when ready to establish himself in business, he purchased a mill in North Andover, on the Cochicewick Brook, and later bought another in Concord, N.H. Becoming convinced in his mind that some time in the near future the falls in the Merrimac River between the present cities of Lawrence and Lowell would be utilized by manufacturers, he began in 1832 to verify by a personal inspection surveys which had previously been made for another purpose, that of estimating the expense of building locks and canals so that the river would be navigable for large boats of merchandise. His examinations still further convincing him of the possibility of the development of a large manufacturing district in this section, he sold his large mills in Concord and North Andover, and invested every penny he coulil lay his hands on in lands bordering on the Merrimac, in order that he might control the water power. Consulting then with his son Daniel, the subject of this sketch, as to the best means of calling the attention of the public to this most desirable location for mills, they decided to build a manufacturing plant themselves. In 1837, therefore, his legal adviser, the Hon. Josiah G. Abbott, then' a member of the General Court, secured for him an act incorporating the "Shawmut Mills" to be erected in Andover, not saying in what part. In the charter granted, the name of Saunders was not used, those of Caleb Abbott, Arthur Livermore, and John Nesmith only being apparent. Prominent manufacturers near by were then told of the grand water power. Samuel Lawrence and others of Lowell investigated the matter, and found two good places for damming the river, one at Peters Falls, the other at Bodwell's, the location of the present dam. The Merrimack River Water Power Association was soon after formed, with Daniel Saunders as president and manager of the company, which consisted of Mr. (afterward Judge) Hopkinson, Samuel Lawrence, John Nesmith, Daniel Saunders, Jr., Nathaniel Stevens, and Jonathan Tyler. The president of the company originated a plan for bonding the lands in the vicinity of both falls; and, when the present site was selected as the most favorable point for operations, the neighboring farms were purchased at a reasonable price. His own real estate, which he had previously bought, he sold at the original price plus simple interest on his investments, although, had not his high sense of honor forbidden him, he might have asked and received almost any sum. A large portrait of the Hon. Daniel Saunders, upon which is a tablet stating that he was the founder of the city of Lawrence, was presented to the city by his sons in April, 1888, and now graces the Akiermanic Chamber of the City Hall. On June, 1821, he married Phebe Foxcroft Abbott, who was born February 8, 1797, in Andover, Mass., and died March, 1890, in Lawrence. Her father, Caleb Abbott, was three times married ; and of his three unions there .were fifteen children. The maiden name of her mother was Lucy Lovejoy. Daniel and Phebe Foxcroft Saunders had five children, namely: Daniel, born October 6, 1822; Charles, who was born in June, 1824, and was extensively engaged in the manufacture of lumber in Lowell until his death in May, 1891; Martha, who died in childhood; Martha, the second, who also died at an early age; and Caleb, born September 4, 183S. On May 3, 1845, the parents removed from Andover to Lawrence, and, having settled on the farm previously purchased, there spent their remaining days, the father's death occurring October 8, 1872. Daniel Saunders, the younger, studied law with the Hon. Josiah G. Abbott, and was for some years closely associated with his late father in his various enterprises. He continued his law practice all the time, however, and is now at the head of one of the best known legal firms, of this section of Essex County. He was Mayor of Lawrence in i860, at the time of the fall of the Pemberton Mills. In commemoration of his distinguished services, in the care of those wounded at that time and the relief of the families of those killed, he was presented by the citizens of Lawrence, irrespective of parties, with a magnificent silver service, which he prizes as one of his most valuable treasures. He served a year as Senator, and also he has represented the city in the lower branch of the State legislature. saunders sisters The Saunders Sisters Were Mary, Annie and Edith. They spent much of their time at Livermore during the warmer months. Their home base was at 116 Stackpole Street in Lowell, Massachusetts. That street number is now part of the Lowell General Hospital parking lot. Livermore Menu Introduction Timeline 1865-1965 Forever Livermore Article Sawyer River Railroad Saunders Family Nicholas Norcross Shackfords Owners Howarth Card Collection Lumbering Practices Legal Problems Peter Crane Thesis Bits and Pieces
- Livermore NH Introduction | bartletthistory
LIVERMORE, NH - A TOWN LOST TO TIME There is no better place to get a sense of life at Livermore than by perusing the Doctoral thesis written by Peter Crane. We have received his permission to present this book to you here on these pages. "Glimpses of Livermore: Life and Lore of an Abandoned White Mountain Woods Community". Find it HERE (or find it later in the "L ivermore Menu" at the top right of each Livermore page). Some of these pages are under construction Livermore Menu Introduction Timeline 1865-1965 Forever Livermore Article Sawyer River Railroad Saunders Family Nicholas Norcross Shackfords Owners Howarth Card Collection Lumbering Practices Legal Problems Peter Crane Thesis Bits and Pieces AN INTRODUCTION TO LIVERMORE: Cellar hole s and potter y shards hint at once-thriving communities By Fred Durso, Jr. The roar of the Sawyer River nearly drowns out Karl Roenke’s voice. While he walks along the water’s bank, the morning sun peeks through the birch and spruce trees and casts light on a world that has lain dormant for decades. The waterway seems to be the only constant in the area; once occupied by nearly 200 people, the land is now heavily wooded. It’s hard to believe that people—not just trees—once dominated this area. Yet Roenke knows a closer look will reveal pieces of the past. He takes a few more steps—and disappears into the brush. “We walk on this land now and the regrowth is just phenomenal,” says Roenke, a heritage resource program leader for the White Mountain National Forest, speaking above the river’s gush. “People don’t know the vibrant history of it all.” Roenke notices a gleam in the mud and points out a white ceramic piece. A few feet away near a fallen trunk, he discovers a black, glasslike shard that fits in the palm of his hand. “It was probably part of a vase or whiskey bottle,” he deduces before placing it back on the ground. The most easily discerned sign of life is a few yards in front of him. The 61-year-old leads the way to a nearby clearing, site of a building foundation where a grocery store once stood. A black cast-iron safe sits within the foundation’s perimeter, another artifact that tells a story of life here long ago. Time has concealed many signs of human activity. Situated in the south end of New Hampshire’s Crawford Notch (directly off of Route 302), the mill town of Livermore was shaped by the surrounding timber industry—its lifeblood—and the former Sawyer River Railroad. The town was officially dissolved in 1951, and Mother Nature has since moved in. But it’s hard to forget or ignore the past. While towns like Livermore have gradually died, Roenke and likeminded individuals with a passion for such hidden, historicalgems believe their stories are worth resurrecting. These advocates are discussing how to highlight historical sites in the White Mountains of New Hampshire such as Livermore and Thornton Gore, a former farming community. Though in its infancy, their “interpretive plan” could lead to the installation of informative signs at the sites. In the meantime, curious hikers can take their own trips through time, once they know where to look. “All of these abandoned towns have a tremendous story to tell,” Roenke says. “Livermore is one of the better ones.” Driving onto Sawyer River Road from Route 302, Rick Russack is surrounded by lands that have become, in his words, his obsession. The 68-year-old curator of the Upper Pemigewasset Historical Society has researched and gathered more than 8,000 photos of about eight former towns in the Granite State. He eagerly approaches the path leading to Livermore, about 2 miles up Sawyer River Road on the left. “These places talk to me,” says Russack as he walks past the former grocery store foundation on his way to the Sawyer River. “If we don’t tell their story, it’s gone.” Next to the river are two slender concrete beams 6 feet high. Skinny copper tubing—once enclosed within the concrete—is now partially exposed. The dilapidated structures once served as a water piping system for the town. Russack accesses Livermore’s other life source—its lumber mill—by making a right into the brush. Hidden within the dense forest is the mill’s foundation, 150 feet by 30 feet. Scattered bricks covered in moss and shrubbery fill the center. “Brick says powerhouse,” Russack explains, also noting that the mill housed steam engines. The mill was the last of three within the town; previous mills burned in 1876 and 1920 and were rebuilt. Logging was the predominant activity when Livermore was incorporated in the late 1800s, and its railroad spurred new life into the region. Lumbermen, who used waterways to transport logs from forests to mills, saw the potential of the new transportation system. But they had one hurdle—land ownership. Much of the North Country and White Mountains region was state land. According to C. Francis Belcher’s book, Logging Railroads of the White Mountains, New Hampshire Gov. Walter Harriman passed a law in 1867 that “sold and disposed of public lands” for practically nothing. The powerful Saunders family incorporated the Grafton County Lumber Co. and in 1877 began construction of the 8-mile Sawyer River Railroad, one of the smaller routes of the time since it stretched only from the Sawyer River Valley above Bartlett to the south end of Crawford Notch. Livermore became the Saunders’ part-time home; the family owned 30,000 of the town’s 75,000 acres, as well as a lavish, 26-room mansion. The town’s population increased over the years (census records report 160 residents in 1890), but the Saunders kept close tab on its occupants; their family’s permission was needed before any individual could reside there. Today, the area shows few signs of the 2 1/2 story houses with porches that lined the river. Yet Russack can tell where land was altered. Following the river downstream, he notices non-native flora. “The lilac bushes would say to me, ‘This was a cultivated area,’” he says. Birch trees, found near the mill site, also offer clues of habitation, since they grow in disturbed areas. An icehouse, engine house, blacksmith shop, grocery store, boarding house, school, and large barn dotted the area. (The school’s foundation is still present a mile past Livermore’s main site on the right side of Sawyer River Road.) Some of the mill workers lived on the opposite side of the river in the area dubbed “Little Canada.” “Very little is known about Little Canada,” says Peter Crane , who wrote his doctoral dissertation on Livermore and is director of programs for the Mount Washington Observatory. “There are no company records that have been uncovered. The earliest mill workers, loggers, etc., were from the Northeast and New Hampshire. As the decades went on, more came from Canada and overseas and changed the demographics of Northern New England.” Though Livermore’s inhabitants lacked the amenities of city life, they made the most of their surroundings. “Times were tough,” says Crane, who interviewed nearly 15 former residents for his dissertation, completed in 1993. “It was a hard life. They were in a very remote area, had very limited medical care, and had many discomforts. But many looked fondly back on growing up in the area, their families, and being close to nature.” According to a 1982 article in The Reporter, a now-defunct newspaper based in North Conway, N.H., some workers weren’t comfortable with the hard labor of the logging camps and sawmill. Unable to tolerate the homesickness and physical exertion, they fled—that is, until the company hired a man named Sidney White to keep the recruits from escaping. During one incident, White shot an escapee in the leg, which resulted in a court case and a $3,000 fine to the lumber company. Other residents recounted rosier experiences. James F. Morrow recalled in a 1969 Yankee Magazine article “sliding in the moonlight down the hill on Main Street without worrying about the traffic, the big thrill of riding with my mother on the cow-catcher of ‘Peggy,’ the old locomotive of the line, into the woods to visit my father.” Some local people explored the surrounding area through AMC-sponsored trips, including one to Mount Carrigain documented in an 1879 Appalachia article. Using the already established railroad line, passengers would ride in flat cars with wooden benches during these excursions. However, the railroad was predominantly used to boost the lumber company’s bottom line. The Saunders carefully husbanded their timber resources: Though clearcutting was a common practice of the day, Livermore’s operation used “selective cutting.” “Striking down trees of a certain size was more conservative,” Crane explains. “It helped prevent forest fires because not a lot of slash was left behind, and it helped retain water better than areas that have been wiped clean. The Saunders represented the new age that was dawning—some greater sensitivity to the environment and looking toward sustainable yields, which is similar to the [USFS] forest management philosophy.” The mill was a prosperous operation. (Belcher notes that loggers were able to cut over the area three times.) But a series of devastating events sealed the town’s fate. After a 1920 fire that burned the mill (which was later rebuilt), a heavy flood in 1927 damaged parts of the railroad bed and bridges. “Looking at census records, Livermore was well on the decline by the time the flood hit,” Crane says. The mill officially closed in 1928. Many of the dwellings were sold for salvage, destroyed, or left to rot. The mansion burned down in 1965. The land, part of the White Mountain National Forest, is now under USFS control and uses include timber harvesting, recreation, and wildlife and watershed management. Only one private residence remains. For Russack, Livermore’s history lies not only in personal accounts and crucial dates, but also in the landscape itself. “You can read a book about Livermore, but to get out here and step on the spot, it’s a different experience,” he says. “Each time you visit, you see something you didn’t see before.” SOURCE MATERIAL: AMC Outdoors, October 2008 Livermore Main Street in the late 1800's. The Sawyer River would be flowing along behind these houses. The Saunder's Mansion is at the top of the hill. GENEALOGY OF LIVERMORE, GRAFTON COUNTY, NEW HAMPSHIRE - ---------------------------- ---- Information located at www . nh . searchroots. com On a web site about GENEALOGY AND HISTORY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE and its counties TRA NSCRIBED BY JANICE BROWN ---- The original source of this information is in the public domain, however use of this text file, other than for personal use, is restricted without written permission from the transcriber (who has edited, compiled and added new copyrighted text to same). ====== SOURCE: Gazeteer of Grafton County NH, 1709-1886, compiled and published by Hamilton Child; Syracuse NY, The Syracuse Journal Company, Printers and Binders, June 1886 page 511 LIVERMORE is a large wilderness township located in the northeastern part of the county, in lat. 44 degrees 5 minutes, and long 71 degrees 30' bounded north by Bethlehem and a part of the county line, east by the county line, south by Waterville, and west by Thornton, Lincoln and Franconia. It was incorporated in 1876. The surface of the township is rough, wild and picturesque, many of its solitudes even apprroaching the sublime. Among its mountain valleys spring the headwaters of the East and Hancock branches of the Pemigewasset river, flowing a westerly course through the township, Mad river, flowing south, and Sawyer river, flowing east. Upon this latter stream is located the lumber mills of the Saunders Brothers, of Massachusetts, the only industry carried on in the township, and who own the larger part of the territory. At present Livermore's only value is derived from its forests, the land being uncleared, and even if it was would doubtless prove too rough for purposes of cultivation. DESCRIPTION OF LIVERMORE NH in 1885: In 1880 Livermore had a population of 153 souls. In 1885 the town had one school district and one common school. Its school-house was valued, including furniture, etc. at $151.00. There were twenty-eight children attending school, taught during the year by two female teachers, at an average monthly salary of $26.00. The entire amount raised for school purposes during the year was $145.12, while the expenditures were $130.00, with W. G. Hull and O.P. Gilman, committee. VILLAGES Livermore (p.o.) is the name given the little village clustered about the lumber mills on the Sawyer river. In 1877 a track was laid from about four miles beyond this point to the Portland & Ogdensburg road, for the purpose of transporting lumber and timber. It is known as the Sawyer River railroad. The village has about twenty dwellings. William G. Hull is the postmaster and manager of the company store. BUSINESSES THE GRAFTON LUMBER CO.--The first mill was built by the Saunders Brothers in 1876, and was destroyed by fire the same year. In 1877 they put up the present structure, which is operated by a 150 horse power engine, for which steam is generated in five boilers. It cuts from 3,000,000 to 11,000,000 feet of lumber per annum. C.W. Saunders is the company's agent here. (end) Livermore in 1921. In the early days it was common practice to roll the travelled ways as opposed to the current method of plowing the toads. Pictures of Livermore in August 1963 provided by Ted Houghton. We appreciate getting these photos. Saunder's Mansion at Livermore as it looked in August of 1963. Saunder's Mansion at Livermore, August 1963. Unfortunately, due to increasing vandalism, the mansion was burned to the ground in 1965 by it's new owner, Mr. Shackford. A view out an upstairs window at the Saunder's Mansion in Livermore, August 1963. Saunder's Mansion at Livermore as it appeared in April of 1964. All four photos courtesy of Ted Houghton. Website Editors Note: I have endeavored to collect as much information as is available about Livermore, NH. To that end, I believe this section to be amongst the most complete collection of material about Livermore to be found all in one place. Some of the information is provided by links to other websites and in all cases I have provided Source data for the information. Some items that have been "copied and pasted" from other websites were done in that method only because I have found often times the original material either gets moved or deleted and links to the information "go bad" overtime. If I have "stepped on any toes" that was not my intention. Another favorite website is White Mountain History dot Org. They also have an array of information and pictures of Livermore. I encourage you to check out that site: (it opens in a new window) https://whitemountainhistory.org/Livermore.html If you have any information you would like to contribute please contact me. Camping gear: Chipmunks 🐶Puppy Hat group photo camp2 Here's a rough looking bunch at Logging Camp #2, all seem to be wearing their toughest faces on this day. Note the guy at right with puppy and guy in back row left with a pet chipmunk. Do YOU know any of these men? We would love to hear from you! Livermore Menu Introduction Timeline 1865-1965 Forever Livermore Article Sawyer River Railroad Saunders Family Nicholas Norcross Shackfords Owners Howarth Card Collection Lumbering Practices Legal Problems Peter Crane Thesis Bits and Pieces
- Donor Form VCC | bartletthistory
Museum Donor Form Intro to Your Museum Church - Early History Coming Attractions Museum Budget Museum Floor Plan Progress in Pictures Museum Gifting Levels How to Donate Museum Donor Form Thank You We Sincerely thank you for considering a donation to what will be YOUR Historical Museum. Click the link below to view and print the PDF form. OR click the other link to charge it to a credit card. View & Print the Donor Form Charge it to my Credit Card No Amount is too small. Many small donations add up to substantial amounts. Your support is important to us. PO Box 514 - Bartlett, NH 03812
- BHS LOGO
< Back BHS LOGO Previous Next
- Wreck at Dismal Pool | bartletthistory
Wreck at Dismal Pool - 1952 This little article was found by this editor on a Facebook post in October 2021. The article by itself is not remarkable but it finally confirms what I always thought was a myth, since I could never find factual evidence. Namely, "That there is at least one box car down in the Dismal Pool near the Crawford Notch Gateway". I'd like to thank the photographer for settling this story in my mind. Now I know it is fact...not myth. Ironically, on the same day I found the article, these pictures from down in Dismal Pool appeared on another Face book post by Hutch Hutchinson of Salem, Ma. He discovered them on a little family Hike. October 2021. You can find his post on facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1736669543253206/ Who knows how far you might have to scroll to find it...haha
- history | Lodging Hotels Preface | bartlett nh history
Hotels - Inns - Cabins - Boarding - a brief preface preface hotels Share Aside from the railroad, tourism may have been Bartlett's second largest industry. We have identified about 75 historical lodging establishments, although there are probably a few more that have been forgotten over the years. Many of the names are for the same buildings during different time periods. The various Inns and Lodgings are broken down into three separate sections as shown in the links below: As with everything else in this website, WE WELCOME YOUR INPUT for updates, corrections, additions or whatever else. Simply click the orange circle. We would like to hear from you ! The saga of hotels, inns and taverns is integral to the history of New Hampshire’s White Mountains. Early settlers were quick to realize the potential value of offering lodging to teamsters, explorers and naturalists. As the region’s fame spread, businessmen and prosperous farmers began to visit the mountains. When travel to the “Crystal Hills” became easier, the area blossomed into a playground for the well-to-do. Before the era of railroads and big hotels accommodations were somewhat limited. There were many small taverns where wayward travelers and stage coaches stopped. One of Bartlett's earliest establishments, that still exists, is the Mountain Home Cabins. Upper Village Area Intervale Area Glen Area Historic Lodging Map Many of the lodging places shown in the list below can be found on the historic map included. You can access it by clicking the blue box link below: Historic Lodging Map 1. Bartlett House (the) 1856-1892 2. Beechwood (the) 1977-present Red Apple Inn 3 Bellhurst 4. Bellevue (Intervale) 5. Bide-a-Wee 1920-1941 6. Broadview (Intervale 1924) 7. Cannells Camps 8. Castner’s Camps 1930-1950? 9. Cave Mountain House (the) 1890-1905 10. Cedarcroft 1892-1953 11. Centre Bartlett House Joseph Mead 12. Charlie’s Cabins 1930-1960 13. Cole’s Camps 1935-Present Better Life Cabins 14. Comstock Inn 15. Country Squire Motor Lodge 1966-present Crystal Hills Lodge and Ski Dorm 16. Dunrovin’ 1910-1945 17. East Branch House 1810-1898 18. Elmcrest 1930-1940 19. Elmwood Inn 20. Elms (the) 21. Emerson Inn - burned in 1948 22. Fairview Cottage 1854- 23. Forest (the) 24. Forest Inn 25. Fosscroft 1928-1950 (replaced the Langdon House 26. Garland (the) 1905- 27. Gateway, the 1890-1990 The Target/Abenaki 28. Glendennings Camps 1932- 29. Glenwood by the Saco 30. Goodrich Falls Cabins 31. Hampshire House 32. Headlands, the (intervale) 33. Howard (the) 1912-1989 34. Intervale House, the 1860- 35. Linderhoff Motor Lodge 1966-1995 36. Lone Maple Cottage 1930-1960 37. Langdon House 1880 - 38. Maple Cottage 1920-1950 39. Maple Dale Cottage 1928-1959 40. Maple Villa 41. Meadowbrook 1945-Present Wills Inn 42. Mt Surprise Cottage (Kearsarge) 43. Mountain Home Cabins 1931-present 44. Mountain Rest 1809-present New England Inn 45. Norland Cottage 46. North Colony Motel 1974-present 47. Obed Halls Tavern 48. Old Fieldhouse, the 1964-present 49. Pequawket House 1854 50. Perry's Rest 1934-present 51. Pines (the) 1925-Present Bartlett Country Inn 52. Pine Cottage 53. Pitman Hall 1905-mid1930's 54. Pleasant Valley Hall 1893-present 55 Red Apple Inn 56. Riverside 57. Roselawn 1910-1926 58. Saco River Cabins 1935-1992 Forbes 59. Silver Springs Cottage 1900- 60. Silver Springs Tavern 1930-1990 61 Sky Valley Motel 1950-present 62. Spruce Knoll Tea Room & Cabins 63. Stilphen’s Farm 1810- 64. Sweets Farm Inn 1920-1938 65. Swiss Chalets 1965 - present 66. Target, the (later the Abenaki) 67. Tasker Cottage 68. Thompson’s Inn 1918-1990 Chippanock 69. Titus Browns Inn 1810 70. Upper Bartlett House 1854- 71. Villager, the 1972-present 72. Wayside Inn of Sam Stillings 73. William Whites Tavern 74. Willow Cottage Inn 1910-1925 75. Woodbine Cottage 76. Woodshed (the) Fosey's Roadhouse 1920-1971 The current Mountain Home Cabins originated in the early 19th century, probably as a stage stop. It was originally part of the Stillings family land It became the property of James and Emeline Nute They sold the business to Clifton and Lucille Garland. The cabins were built two per year starting in 1931. In the 1920's, before the cabins, it operated as a campground. Cabins being a seasonal operation allowed Lucille to be a school teacher in Bartlett and Clifton tended milking cows. The property continues to be operated by Clifton's grand children who also operate Bear Notch Ski Touring Company from the site. Source Material from "The Latchstring Was Always Out" by Aileen Carroll, 1994 The establishments we know of are divided by which parts of town they were located in. Choose from the links shown below: Upper Village Area Intervale Area Glen Area As early as the mid 1800's entrepreneurs even endeavored to place hotels atop mountains. There were more than one. This one was atop Mount Washington. It burned in 1870, was rebuilt and burned again in 1908. Upper Village Area Intervale Area Glen Area Historic Lodging Map
- Coming Attractions | bartletthistory
Coming Attractions Intro to Your Museum Church - Early History Coming Attractions Museum Budget Museum Floor Plan Progress in Pictures Museum Gifting Levels How to Donate Museum Donor Form Updated April 2022 Coming Attractions in the Museum The Bartlett History Museum will offer a variety of revolving displays showing the history of Bartlett, Hart’s Location and Livermore for history enthusiasts, researchers and anyone with a bit of curiosity. Here’s a list of just some of the things we’ll have in store for our guests. Memorabilia Displays Local Military History Cannell Farm and Store Artifacts Railroad Documents and Artifacts St. Joseph Church History & Original Artifacts Bartlett Grammar & High School Documents Local Logging History Kearsarge Peg Mill Artifacts & History Livermore History Hart’s Location History Local Church Histories Research Materials 10,000 Entry “People Directory” Database Assortment of White Mountain & New Hampshire History Books Original Journal from the Bartlett Ladder & Hose Company (Fire Department) Yankee Flier Documents Recorded Oral Histories Property Deeds and Other Documents Dating to 1793 General Items of Interest 1860 Carroll County Wall Map Local Business Advertising & Posters Large Local Postcard Collection Old Calendars with Local Advertising After the museum is opened, we anticipate receiving donations of many items now stored in attics, basements and barns so things will always be changing at the Bartlett History Museum! PO Box 514 - Bartlett, NH 03812
- BHS LOGO 2
< Back BHS LOGO 2 Previous Next
- People Stories | bartletthistory
People Stories Bartlett has been home to many interesting people. Read about some of them here. Share Josiah Bartlett Mary Bartlett Dr. Harold Shedd Ethan Allen Crawford George Family Hall Family Robert Morrill Saunders of Livermore Titus Brown Inn Tasker Family How Places got Their Names Dr Leonard Eudy Smallpox Doctor Godfrey Frankenstein Artist NEWSLETTER INTERVIEWS: George Howard Interview Ben Howard Interview Gail Paine Interview Dwight Smith Interview Dale Mallett Interview John Cannell Interview Charlotte Teele Interview Bert George Interview Pt 1 Bert George Interview Pt 2 David Shedd Interview Dave Eliason Interview Peg Trecarten Fish Interview Verland Swede Ohlson , died in 2003 at age 86. He was of Center Conway, died at home on Dec. 7. He was born in 1917 in Duhring, Pa., the fifth of six children of Fred Ohlson, a Swedish immigrant, and Anna Beckwith Ohlson. He grew up in logging camps and farms in western New York state. He was a WWII veteran serving in the elite First Special Service Forces. They were trained in snow warfare, mountaineering, amphibious assault and parachuting. He had a long and distinguished career with the U.S. Forest Service, working in Montana, Idaho, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Maine and New Hampshire. He was Saco District Ranger for 23 years, starting in 1957, when the Kancamagus Highway was an incomplete dirt road. His love of forest and trees was evident in the thousands of trees he planted over his lifetime, in his yard, his childrens yards and just about any place he could put one. Bits & Pieces ohlson The Glen Road, also known as the Pinkham Road, was built by Daniel Pinkham (born 1779) who was granted all the land from Jackson to Gorham in 1824. He did so at great expense to himself but greatly improved travel for the general public. Mr Pinkham was also a lay preacher with much ability.
- Ski Areas in Bartlett nh | bartlett nh history
Bartlett Ski Areas past and present This Newsletter features the ski areas that have been, or still are, located in Bartlett. Scroll down to page 6 where the article begins. The Link will open in a new window. Ski Areas in Bartlett We are working on this page.
- Village Area Pg 4 | bartletthistory
Share The Village Area of Bartlett Page 4 "Heading East out of the Village" Upper Bartlett Glen Area Cooks Crossing Goodrich Falls Jericho Intervale Dundee West Side Road Big Bear: The ski area that never was January 1963: The Bartlett Recreation Development Corporation gets SEC approval to sell 75000 shares at $4.00 each. The developers planned to be open for the 1964 season. At the time, the concept of selling vacation house lots adjacent to ski areas was a new idea. Pinkham Realty was named the selling agent for 45 lots on 32 acres in what would be known as Alpine Village . The lots sold for $1000 to $2000 each and 17 were sold immediately. To summarize the relationship between Big Bear and Attitash, in the early 1960s, two major ski area proposals surfaced for the Rogers Crossing area just east of downtown Bartlett. Big Bear was proposed for a peak known as Rogers Mountain, while a separate ski area was proposed for Little Attitash Mountain. The privately property based Big Bear reportedly faced issues acquiring funds, whilst Attitash reportedly faced issues in obtaining agreements to use National Forest land on its upper elevations. Earle Chandler led development of Big Bear , while Phil Robertson (formerly of Cranmore) managed Attitash. While trails for both areas were cut, Big Bear never saw the light of day. Some associated with the stalled Big Bear development reportedly moved over to Attitash. Work on the area continued into the winter of 1964-65, including the installation of new chairlift towers after Christmas. It would take another 25 years and different ownership for the Big Bear idea to become reality in the form of Bear Peak, constructed under the direction of Les Otten’s LBO Enterprises. 1963 conceptual drawing for Big Bear Ski Area, Currently is Bear Peak at Attitash. Village Area Page 1 Village Area Page 2 Village Area Page 3 Village Area Page 4 Village Area Page 5 This 1947 photo was taken from about where the North Colony Motel is today The red roofed building was the Ford house now owned by Gene Chandler. The cottages at Sky Valley can be seen to the right of the barn. The barn may have still been a part of the Stilling's families many properties. at this time. Rogers Crossing might be considered the entrance to The Upper Village area. Back in those days Harry Rogers (pictured below in 1946) use to graze milking cows in the fields from this point up to about where Sky Valley is today. Attitash opened in January 1965, calling itself "the red carpet ski area" for its customer service focused on limiting lift lines by limiting ticket sales. That idea was quietly dropped by the end of the decade. Phil Robertson, perhaps recalling the success Cranmore had in developing an entirely new form of ski lift with its Skimobile , became an advocate for a cog monorail ski lift at Attitash. In early 1967, a full-size model was installed at the base, and the line of the track was eventually cut to the summit. "Reality set in" when construction planning started, recalled Thad Thorne, and the uncertain prospects of obtaining financing and Forest Service permission for the expensive, unproven experiment caused its quiet abandonment. In those early days before the Mountain was taken over by huge Corporate businesses it was operated like a family business and all the employees were considered part of the family. It was a close knit group and it wasn't unusual to find the general manager grooming the slopes or selling tickets. Some ski instructors worked nights grooming. The major stockholders were skiing families and they considered it their ski area...which I suppose it was. Growth at Attitash continued with the summer Alpine Slide and Craft Village in the mid-1970s, the installation of snowmaking after several snowless winters in the early 1980s, and the expansion to Bear Peak in the 1990s. Village Area Page 1 Village Area Page 2 Village Area Page 3 Village Area Page 4 Village Area Page 5 Thad Thorne was the General Manager replacing Phil Robertson upon his retirement. Lewis Mead was the long-time buildings and grounds manager and Everett Ward kept all the equipment running. Ruth Leslie, of Cranmore Eating House fame was the food and beverage manager. (sorry, no picture of her) This 1967 photo was sent to us by Ted Houghton. It shows the Attiash Mono Rail cars sitting on their track. This was about as far as this project got. Check out the Eastern Slope Signal of 1966 for details. Link is in the right column.... Last stop before we head towards the Glen area is the Sauna Health Spa. It was located about a quarter mile east of Attitash and was the refurbished barn at the Bellhurst Inn property. Apparently it wasn't ready for primetime and only operated for about a year. This building later served as home to the Scarecrow Restaurant for a couple of years before they moved to Intervale, where they operated for another 50 years, till about 2018. Village Area Page 1 Village Area Page 2 Village Area Page 3 Village Area Page 4 Village Area Page 5
- May 28th
- Summer Secrets
- Progress in Pictures Page 3 | bartletthistory
Renovation Gallery page 3 After the hazmat work, we had a clean original frame and environmentally safe building. The roof project is next!” Photos Page 1 Photos Page 2 Photos Page 3 Photos Page 4 Photos Page 5 Photos Page 6 Stained glass windows were donated by the original Parishioners with their name printed on each one. J.C. Donahue and Wife Frank McGee Pierre Leveque Rev Lacroix Rev Bishop Photos Page 1 Photos Page 2 Photos Page 3 Photos Page 4 Photos Page 5 Photos Page 6 Intro to Your Museum Church - Early History Coming Attractions Museum Budget Museum Floor Plan Progress in Pictures Museum Gifting Levels How to Donate Museum Donor Form
- Railroad | bartlett nh history
Bridges & Trestles Functionality and Architecture Meet More Railroad Pages - Menu Top Right... This double span bridge is located in Glen, NH. Wendell Kiesman photo - used with permission Pratt Truss Bridge Since its introduction in 1844, this bridge design became part of hundreds of bridges created up to Second World War. It was designed by the Thomas Willis Pratt (1812 – 1875) and his father Caleb Pratt, a pair of American engineers, just several years after William Howe patented his famous Howe truss design. This bridge design immediately became widely used during the period when many bridges moved from wood components toward all-steel construction designs. Its most compelling feature was the ability was to span great distances using simple construction methods. It was regularly used to span anchor points that are up to 250 feet (76 meters) apart. It was most commonly used in railroad bridge construction, although it was also a preferred choice for creating other types of bridges all around the world until early 20th century. I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy. What is a trestle Bridge? With the increased use and development of railroads civil engineers had to deal with rough, unstable and often dangerous terrain and make sure that rails are adequately supported by trestle construction which was meant to be filled with solid material. When building railroad tracks across wide and deep valleys, trestles made of wooden timber were built to keep the track solid and safe high above the ground. Most trestles were meant to be temporary, allowing trains to transport materials necessary to create a solid fill beneath the tracks. On the other hand, rather than temporary, trestles were used as permanent bridge support in sections of tracks where water flow or sudden flooding could cause solid fills to become unsafe. Despite the frail looks of trestle bridges, they remained a safe passage for freight trains around the still settling the United States while exploring and populating and developing western territories. In the United Kingdom, wooden trestles were used for a relatively short period of the main use of crossing deep valleys in mountainous areas and were soon replaced by stone, and concrete viaducts with only a few wooden trestles continued to be in use into the 20th century. Frankenstein Trestle Crawford Notch about 1880. Spindly trestle supports indicate built on initial opening of the track through Crawford Notch by the P and O 1875. . Frankenstein was strengthened for heavier trains during the summer of 1905 as Maine Central RR began a bridge upgrade program from Portland to St. Johnsbury. ArchBridges Stone Arch Bridges on the Mountain Division Stone Arch Bridges were popular on Railroads and the Portland and Ogdensburg line from Portland, Maine to St. Jo hnsbury, Vermont was no exception. Between milepost 7.34 Ink Horn, Maine and heading west to milepost 100.25 Carroll stream in Whitefie ld, NH there were 9 stone arch bridges constructed. Finding the arch bridges on the line from North Conway to Crawford Notch starts at Artist Falls Brook (constructe d in 1882 by the stone masons of the Portland and Ogdensburg RR) at Milepost 59.24 and ends in Crawford Notch at Milepost 81.82 Kedron Brook with 2 being constructed. Here pictured is the st one arch bridge at Kedron Brook in Crawford Notch. The stone was available from a near by quarry along the left side of the tracks heading west towards St. Johnsbury, VT. Kedron Brook Arch was built by the stone masons of the Portland and Ogdensburg in 1875. Stone bridges all have arches supporting them. Step 2: Plan Your Bridge. Step 3: Pour a Concrete Footing. Step 4: Build Your Wooden Support Frame. Step 5: Cut Your Stones. Step 6: Place Arch Support Stones. Step 7: Reinforce Arch with Concrete (Optional) Step 8: Build Side Walls. You can find great information on construction of stone arch bridges at https//stonearchbridges.com **The picture at Kedron Brook was take with the permission of the management of the Conway Scenic Railroad. The line is the property of the State of NH and heavy fines are given for trespassing (no joke). Please enjoy the picture of Kedron Brook on this page nd do not attempt to find this on your own. Kedron Brook Bridge - Crawford Notch, NH More Railroad Pages - Menu Top Right...
- HOW PLACES GOT THEIR NAMES | bartletthistory
How Places Around Bartlett Got Their Names History, tragedy, and whimsy determined what we call these White Mountain peaks: REFERENCE: By Mark Bushnell AMC Outdoors, November/December 2011 Note: The editor originally posted a link to the original article. That link has since disappeared. The news shocked Nancy Barton: Her fiance had left. She decided to follow him, despite the biting cold on that December day in 1778. Nancy set out on foot from the estate of Col. Joseph Whipple in Dartmouth (since renamed Jefferson), N.H., where she and her fiancé, Jim Swindell, worked. She intended to make the more-than-100-mile trek to Portsmouth, where Jim had supposedly gone. One version of the story says Jim had taken Nancy's dowry and fled. A variant of the tale casts Col. Whipple as the villain, claiming he disapproved of the match and had sent his hired hand away. Whatever the reason for Jim's disappearance, Nancy's effort to find him was ill advised. She made it as far as what is now known as Crawford Notch. A search party is said to have found her seated beside a brook, head resting upon her hand and walking stick. Her clothes, which had gotten wet when she crossed the brook, were stiff with ice. She didn't stir as the searchers approached. Nancy Barton had frozen to death. It is small consolation, but Nancy's tragic demise earned her a measure of immortality. People began referring to a nearby mountain as Mount Nancy. The name stuck. A Harvard professor in the mid-1800s suggested changing the name to Mount Amorisgelu, a combination of two Latin words meaning "the frost of love." He thought it a more poetic way to commemorate Nancy Barton's fate. But that mouthful of a name never supplanted Mount Nancy. Over the years, "Mount Nancy" took the same path to acceptance as the names of most peaks in the White Mountains. It began as a locally known designation. The name gained some renown when it was printed in an early book, the travel writings of the Rev. Timothy Dwight, printed in 1823. Then it was accepted by the Appalachian Mountain Club's Committee on Nomenclature , which was created to standardize names and settle disputes. Lastly, it won approval from the U.S. Board of Geographic Names (USBGN ) , the nation's final arbiter on place names since 1890. Indian Terms: American Indians were of course the first to name the White Mountains. During the millennia before Europeans conquered the region, the local people bestowed names on significant landscape features. Most of those names, sadly, have been lost. The ones we still know are descriptive. Mount Waumbek,, for example, seemingly derives its name from the word "waumbekket-methna," meaning "snowing mountains" in some local Indian dialects, from "waumbek-methna," sometimes translated as "mountains with snowy foreheads," or from "waumbik," meaning "white rocks" in Algonquin. It is not unusual for the precise derivation to be ambiguous. For example, Mahoosuc Mountain's name might come from an Abenaki word meaning "home of hungry animals" or a Natick word for "pinnacle." Among the most debated origins is that of Mount Kearsarge —a name so popular that the White Mountains have two, one now known as Kearsarge North to reduce confusion. Kearsarge may come from an Algonquin word meaning "born of the hill that first shakes hands with the dawn," a long, lyrical sentiment for one word. Or perhaps it derives from an Abenaki word meaning simply "pointed mountain." Another theory holds that it owes its name to the contraction of the name of an early white settler, Hezekiah Sargent. Say it several times fast and you can almost hear it. Many of the surviving mountain names that sound like American Indian terms honor individual chiefs. But white settlers bestowed those names after the tribes of the White Mountains were overwhelmed by disease and warfare. In that sense, these names bear a more tragic legacy even than Mount Nancy. Among the Indians honored are Chocorua (who, after a dispute with settlers in the early 1700s, was either killed or committed suicide on the mountain that now bears his name), Kancamagus (who, after failing to make peace with the English, led a raid on the town of Dover in 1686, then fled to Canada), and Waternomee (who was killed during a massacre in 1712). The fad of naming mountains after past Indian leaders grew so popular that two White Mountains even honor chiefs from far-off tribes—Osceola, a Seminole who lived in the Everglades, and Tecumseh, a Shawnee who lived in Ohio. The Presidents: White settlers more typically named mountains after white leaders. That's what a group of seven men from the town of Lancaster, N.H., set out to do on July 31, 1820. They wanted to put some names on the map, perhaps knowing that once in print, a name was often picked up by later mapmakers and guidebook writers. So it was no coincidence that they brought along mapmaker Philip Carrigain, an important cartographer who would eventually get his own mountain. The naming party climbed Mount Washington, which was named for George Washington in 1784 for his military actions during the Revolution—he wasn't yet president. By the time the Lancaster men climbed the mountain, however, the former president was the sainted father of the country. They thought his peak deserved august company. That day they picked out appropriate prominences for the most prominent men of the day. With Carrigain's help, they honored John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and James Monroe with mountains. But the naming party still had mountains it wanted to name, so it added one for Benjamin Franklin—this being 1820, they had run out of presidents. They also named a nearby pinnacle Mount Pleasant, having apparently run out of better ideas. More Presidents have since been added to the range. The USBGN supported a push to change the name of Mount Pleasant to Mount Eisenhower in 1970, shortly after the death of the former general and president. The Presidentials also include John Quincy Adams and Franklin Pierce, who got in because he was a New Hampshire native. (Some people still know the peak by its former name, Mount Clinton, after Dewitt Clinton, an important New York politician of the early 1800s.) In 2003, the New Hampshire legislature tried to add another president to the range, voting to change Mount Clay, named for 19th century statesman Henry Clay, to Mount Reagan. But the USBGN voted to keep the former name. In 2010, a peak in the Presidentials named simply Adams 4 was renamed Mount Abigail Adams to honor her life as wife and vital private counsel to John Adams. She was, of course, also the mother of John Quincy Adams. Other presidents—both great and not so great—have been honored with mountain names elsewhere in the Whites. They are: Abraham Lincoln, James Garfield (who was honored shortly after—and presumably because of—his assassination), Grover Cleveland (he summered nearby), and Calvin Coolidge (perhaps because, as a native Vermonter, he was a New Englander). Some people might think Mount Jackson should be added to the list, but that summit is named not for Andrew, the sixth president, but for Charles Thomas Jackson, a New Hampshire state geologist who conducted research in the Presidentials. Local Heroes: Perhaps it is appropriate that many of the summits honor people of local rather than national renown. Among the locally prominent people celebrated are Thomas Starr King (a Unitarian minister and early proponent of tourism in the region, who wrote about the Whites in purple prose), Arnold Henri Guyot (a Princeton geology professor who had a mountain named after him by AMC to recognize his extensive research throughout the Appalachians), and Ezra Carter (a physician from Concord, N.H., who explored the mountains for medicinal herbs). Entire families whose lives were entwined with the mountains have also been honored. Mount Pickering got its name from a family that included Charles, a naturalist who climbed Mount Washington in 1826, and his nephews, Edward and William, both astronomers who shared their uncle's passion for mountains. Edward Pickering helped organize AMC and became its first president. For generations, the Weeks family was prominent in the Whites. One John W. Weeks was a member of the 1820 party that first named the Presidentials; a descendent of the same name was a congressman and Coolidge administration official who crafted the Weeks Act of 1911, which led to the creation of the White Mountain National Forest. Mount Weeks, previously known by the rather dull name Round Mountain, honors the family. Perhaps the most celebrated family is the Crawfords . Abel Crawford and his sons Tom and Ethan Allen Crawford were early innkeepers and helped open the region by cutting trails through the wilderness, including the bridle path up Mount Washington, still in use today as a hiking trail and considered the oldest continuously maintained footpath in the United States. Ethan's wife, Lucy, helped run the inn and published an important history of the White Mountains in 1846. Today the family name adorns several prominent geographical features, including Crawford Notch and Mount Crawford. Mount Tom is named for Tom Crawford. Other innkeepers have also been honored. Mount Hayes is named for Margaret Hayes, who ran the White Mountain Station House starting in 1851, while Mount Oscar is named for Oscar Barron, who managed the Fabyan House. At least one guest also had a summit named after him. Tom Crawford named Mount Willard as a tribute to climbing companion Joseph Willard. Crawford was being magnanimous. That mountain had previously been known as Mount Tom. More than 30 years later, a second Mount Tom, the one that remains today, was christened. F eatures and Events: But not all White Mountains were named after people. Some were named by referring to a distinctive characteristic of the peak. Thus we have such obvious name origins as Long Mountain, Table Mountain, Stairs Mountain, Mount Tripyramid, and even Old Speck, whose rock is speckled. Mining activity gave us Tin Mountain and Iron Mountain. Hurricane Mountain and Mount Mist are named for weather conditions, and Eagle, Wildcat, and Rattlesnake mountains for one-time inhabitants. If most people seemed to prefer stately names like Mount Washington, some of the mountains' namers preferred to bring a bit of whimsy to the task. So it was that we got names like Old Speck or, better yet, Goback Mountain, an apparent reference to what hikers decided to do when they saw its steepness. Or Tumbledown-Dick Mountain, which has puzzled mountain etymologists for generations. Some suggest the origin is clear: It was named when someone named Dick took a memorable fall. Others believe it comes from an Anglicization of an Indian name, the meaning of which we have lost. Perhaps the oddest name in the Whites, or at least the one memorializing the most trivial-seeming event, is Mount Mitten, which supposedly got its name after an early visitor lost his mitten while hiking there. But we can let that name stand. According to Lucy Crawford, that visitor was Timothy Nash, who lost the mitten in 1771 while climbing a tree to get a better view. Nash, who was tracking a moose that day, noticed a notch in the mountains. Perhaps he noticed the notch from the tree that claimed his mitten. Nash's discovery sparked interest. New Hampshire's governor promised a land grant if Nash could prove a horse could travel through the notch. Nash and a companion, Benjamin Sawyer, did just that. The notch became a vital route that opened the White Mountains to settlement and made trade easier between Maine and points west. The notch isn't named after Nash. That honor went to the Crawfords, who built and ran a hotel there, on the site of what is now AMC's Highland Center. And no White Mountain has been named for Nash, though he did get his land grant, and a mountain named after his missing mitten. MtKearsarge Barton mitten MOSES SWEETSER 1875 Moses Sweetser, 1875, Offers His Opinions and Idea of Place Names Moses Sweetser, in his 1875 "The White Mountains, a handbook for travelers; A Guide to the Peaks" , offers up a less than flattering opinion of the nomenclature of the Mountain names. Partial text Quoted directly from Chapter 6 - Nomenclature: Men of culture have mourned for many years the absurd and meaningless originations and associations of the names of the White Mountains. Beginning with a misnomer in the title of the whole range, they descend through various grades of infelicity and awkwardness to the last names imposed in the summers of 1874 - 75. The confused jumble of titles of the main peaks suggests the society of the Federal City and the red-tape and maneuvering of politics and diplomacy, rather than the majesty of the natural altars of New England and the Franconian summits are not more fortunate. The minor mountains are for the most part named after the farmers who lived near them , or the hunters who frequented their forests. The names in themselves are usually ignoble, and it may be questioned whether the avocations of a mountain-farmer or a beaver trapper are sufficiently noble or so tend to produce high characters as to call for such honors as these Other peaks commemorate in their names certain marked physical productions or resemblances, and this is certainly a desireable mode of bestowing titles. But, the farmers who christened them were men of narrow horizons and starved imaginations, scarce knowing of the world's existence beyond their obscure valleys, and so we find scores of mountains bearing similar names, and often within sight of each another. Others were christened in memory of puerile incidents in the lives of unknown and little men, or of dull legends of recent origin. Some were named after popular landlords and railroad men; some after famous foreign peaks; and some have the titles of the towns in which they stand. Others bear resonant Indian names, the only natural outgrowth of the soil and the only fitting appellations for the higher peaks. After a brief and superficial study of maps, the Editor has selected the following series of names now applied to some of the mountains in and near this region, to show at once their poverty and the confusion resultant upon their frequent duplication. . The names of hunters and settlers are preserved on Mts Stinson, Carr, Webster's Slide, Glines, Tom, Crawford, Russell, Hatch, Hix, Bickford, Lyman, Eastman, Snow's, Royce, Carter, Hight, Morse, Orne, Ingalls, Smarts, Kinsman, Big and Little Coolidge, Cushman, Fisher, Morgan, Willey, Parker, Pickering, Sawyer, Gardner, and Hunt. Probably hundreds of names in Western Maine have similar origins. There are summits named for Bill Smith, Bill Merrill and Molly Ockett and Western Maine has an Aunt Hepsy Brown Mountain. Further north where the lumbermen abound there are mountains whose popular names are so vile as to be omitted from the maps. Other groups of names are Cow, Horse, Sheep, Bull, Wildcat, Caribou,Moose, Deer, Rattlesnake, Sable, Bear, Eagle, Iron, Tin, Ore, Pine, Spruce, Beech, Oak, Cedar, Cherry and Blueberry. Some early legend or simple incident connected with them gave rise to the names Resolution, Pilot, Mitten, Cuba, Sunday, Nancy. The following names are inexplicable; Puzzle, Silver Springs, Umpire, Goose Eye, Patience, Sloop (or Slope), Thorn, Young. The last nomenclature degradation is found in the various Hog Back Mountains and in the villainous names given to the fine peaks of the Ossipee Range, which are called the Black Snouts by the neighboring rustics. A fruitfull source of confusion is the frequent duplication of names on neighboring mountains. Sometimes the same mountain has a different name depending on from where it is viewed. Out of this blind maze of hackneyed and homely names must arise the significant nomenclature of the future. This renaming must by necessity be a slow process but it has already commenced well, and by the second centennial the entire nomenclature of our New England Highlands may be reformed. Full Text available free: "The White Mountains: a handbook for travellers : a guide to the peaks" ... By Moses Foster Sweetser Chapter 6 - Nomenclature begins on page 29; click this link: Available at Google Books History of Carroll County NH " History of Carroll County NH " by Georgia Drew Merrill Published 1889. Ms. Merrill devotes Chapter XIV to how various Carroll County places got their names, beginning on page 101 . This link to the book and the page is provided here ; but you are cautioned that oft times links to external locations are sometimes changed and no longer accurate. A Google search for the book should provide the accurate link. And Now You Know And Now You Know ! Submitted by Anna Hatch Peare of Conway, NH thank you. Native American Place Names: The Native Americans of this region loved the land and were close observers of nature. They gave names to the mountains, rivers, streams, and other natural features and for the most part early European settlers kept them. Today, many places we love in New Hampshire bear the names first given to them by Native Americans. Here are just a few: Amonoosuc River ('manosek) – Western Abenaki for "fishing place." Amoskeag Falls (namaskik) – Western Abenaki for "at the fish land." Contoocook River (nikn tekw ok) – Abenaki for "to or from the head or first branch of the river." Grand Monadnock (minoria denak) – Abenaki for "the bare or smooth mountain." Kearsarge (g'wizawajo) – Western Abenaki for "rough mountain." Massabesic Lake (massa nbes ek) – Abenaki for "to the great pond." Merrimack River (mol dema) – Abenaki for "deep water or river." Mount Pisgah (pisga) – Abenaki for "dark." Nashua (niswa) – Abenaki for "two." Newichwannock River (n'wijonoanek) also known today as Salmon River – Abenaki for the "long rapids and falls." Piscataqua River (pesgatak was) – Abenaki for "the water looks dark." Pemigewasset River (pamijoassek) – Abenaki for "the river having its course through here." Saco (soko) is Abenaki for "towards the south" – (msoakwtegw) Western Abenaki for "dry wood river." Sunapee Lake (seninebi) – Abenaki for "rock or mountain water." Suncook River (seni kok) – Abenaki for "to the rocks." Umbagog Lake (w'mbagwog) – Abenaki for "to the clear water lake." Winichahanat (wiwnijoanek) also known as Dover – Abenaki for "the place where the water flows around it." Lake Winnipesaukee (wiwninbesaki) – Abenaki for "the lake between or around land or islands." Souhegan River (zawhigen) is Western Abenaki for "a coming out place." Note: The references for Abenaki place names are from the following publications: "Abenaki Indian Legends, Grammar, and Place Names" by Henry Lorne Masta, 1932. "A Western Abenaki Dictionary" by Gordon M. Day, 1994. Joseph Laurent and Abenaki languages saco native More about the Abenaki Indians, Life and Culture: https://www.bartletthistory.org/bartletthistory/beginnings.html#culture https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abenaki_Indian_Shop_and_Camp A HISTORY OF CONWAY, NEW HAMPSHIRE FOR USE IN THE SOCIAL STUDIES PROGRAM OF THE FOURTH GRADES IN THE CONWAY SCHOOL DISTRICT by BARBARA SMART LUCY List of place names of Native American origin in New England
- Section Houses | bartletthistory
Crawford Notch section houses Railroad Section Houses of the Maine Central and P & O Railroads through Crawford Notch It is generally known that there were three popularly known Section houses in Crawford Notch. However, when the Portland and Ogdensburg opened the line there were many more houses, often in sight of each other. The dwelling most remembered is the famed Mt. Willard Section house . This fortress like building could be seen from US Route 302 along with Willey (pronounced willie not wylee) Brook Bridge, a double span deck girder bridge 104 feet long and 90 feet high at its highest point. The west end of the trestle was made of wood from 1875-1888. The entire bridge was replaced in 1905 with both spans of the bridge rolled out and the current new bridge being rolled in and the bridge reopened in 7 minutes!!!! and.......with no interruption in train service!! This building was located 83.54 miles from Portland, ME. Built in 1888 for the James Mitchell family it boarded section men that would work the most difficult section of the mountain line from Mile 82.5 miles from Portland to just east of Crawford’s Station: Section 129. In 1898 James Mitchell retired, at which time Joseph Monahan moved in as Section foreman until the summer of 1903, when Loring Evans and his wife Hattie set up housekeeping in the remote mountain dwelling. Loring was killed by accident in 1913 but Hattie stayed and boarded the section men until her retirement in 1941. In 1942 Hattie moved to one of her childrens residences in Maine where she died in 1954 at age 82, A recent Bartlett History newsletter featured the story of Hattie and the Evans Family. Read it here beginning on page 6. Researched and written by Scotty Mallett. Some photos on this page courtesy of Robert Girouard Sawyer River Station and Junction of The Sawyer River Railroad to Livermore. Carrigain Dwelling Sawyer River Station Section Houses on the way west through Crawford Notch 7 constructed by the P&O RR and 1 by the MEC. Name and Miles from Portland: *Sawyers River @ mile 74.8 (P&O) Section Foreman- 1888-1891 George Rich 1894-1902 John Stevens 1902-1903 Leslie Smith 1903-1905 George Murch 1905-1911 Merville Murch 1912-1927 John McCann 1927-1954-Robert Gardner Closed 1954 Carrigain Station and Town. The "dwelling" was about a mile west of this scene. Carrigain Dwelling @ mile 78.8 (later to become Willey house post office) (P&O) 1875-1894-? 1894-1896 Fred Pingree 1896-1940-Patrick McGee 1941-1973 Peter King 1973-1990 Private Dwelling Razed 1990 Avalanche Flag Stop later willey house Flag Stop Joe & Florence Monahan. *Avalanche flag stop @ mile 80.8 (P&O) 1875-1887 Anthony Swift *Willey House flag stop @ mile 80.9 (replaced Avalanche) 1870 - 1883 -Alfred Allen (Foreman, but Lived at Crawford House) 1887-1903 William Burnell 1903-1941 - Joe & Florence Monahan 1943-1953-Joseph Burke 1953-1965 Cornelius Griffin 1965-1976- Wellman Rowell Closed 1976 Burned by the Railroad 1988 Aldrige House @ mile 82.5(P&O) 1875-1894 Joseph Aldridge Closed unknown Guay Place @ mile 83 (P&O) 1875-1888 Forman Unknown monahanjoe Much has been written about the Evans Family who resided at the Mt Willard Section House yet we don't hear so much about others who raised their families next to the tracks. Joseph and Florence Monahan were one such couple who raised their six daughters at the Willie House Station Flagstop, two miles east of the Evans family. Joseph Monahan became foreman of Section 129 in 1898 and to ok up residence at the Mt. Willard Section House upon James Mitchell's retirement. Joe was "filling in" for Loring Evans, who was away for a trackmen's strike. In 1901, Joe married Florence Crawford Allen, the daughter of Alfred Mingay Allen, who was Section Foreman at Fabyan's (Fourth Division - Section 130). A.M. Allen later owned an Ice Cream Parlor and Gift Shop in Bretton Woods. The Monahans had one child while at Mt. Willard Section House: Gertrude born March 3, 1902. On the day Gertrude was born, it was too stormy to send the doctor to the house on the train, so they bundled Florence up and put her on the train to Fabyans, where Gert was delivered. In the summer of 1903, the Monahan family was moved to section 128 - Willey House Station, where the family was blessed with five more girls (Ethel, Hazel, Alyce, Doris and Agatha). Joe Monahan dubbed them his "super six"! The girls were very friendly with the Evans children, who now occupied the Mt. Willard Section House, about a mile west of the Monahan residence. Joe built them a playhouse in the backyard where the two Evans girls would visit and play with their dolls and toys in the little house. The Monahans were of the Catholic faith. There was no church nearby, so the priest would come to their home to perform mass. The residence was a busy place, housing the Post Office, Telegraph Office and 2 crewmen. Florence was appointed Postmaster in 1903. In addition to cooking and cleaning for the family and crew, she found time to serve on the Hart's Location Board of Education. Meanwhile, Joe served on the Town Board of Health, was a Road Agent, Supervisor of Checklist and was a Town Selectman for 22 years, beginning in 1905. In this remote building (which also served as a dwelling) the people of Hart's Location came here to vote. It was said that from mid-October to early April, the rays of the sun never touched this building. When the girls were old enough, they attended school at Bemis except during the winter months, when the teacher came to their residence twice a week. Eventually, all the children went to school in Fabyan, with the train serving as their school bus. Doris (born 1/1/1910), better known as Dot, would be the only child to remain in Hart's Location during her adult years. After Dot completed the sixth grade, she attended school at St. Johnsbury Vermont as a boarder. She was a graduate of Whitefield High School, Class of 1927 and went on to Concord Business School. She worked in Boston until 1928, when health problems forced her to return hom e. Dot married Peter King, section foreman at the Carrigain Section House. They had two children (Shirley and William "Bill"). Dot and Pete purchased the Carrigan dwelling in 1941. Dot took after her parents, becoming Postmaster and Town Clerk from 1935 to the 1970's. Many First in the Nation Presidential Election votes were cast around her dining table. Peter King died in 1956, and Dot moved to Bartlett. She married Robert "Bob" Jones (died 1975) and then married Ralph Clemons, who died in 1993. Dot continued to live in their Birch Street home until her death (7/21/2006). The Carrigain Dwelling remained in the family. Son Bill King purchased the residence from his mother in 1989, with plans to renovate. An inspection showed that the house had to be razed. A new log home was built on the site in 1990, where Bill and wife Carolyn lived comfortably. The Bartlett Historical Society featured an interview with Bill King in one of the Newsletters; h e nce, you may read the continuing story at this link: 2020 Newsletter, Go To Page 6. SOURCES: "Hart's Location in Crawford Notch" -Marion L. Varney, 1997, Laurie Spackman & Sylvia Pinard: personal recollections. ( Laurie is Gertrude's granddaughter; Sylvia is Gerts daughter.) . Monahan pictures are attributed to the Pinard family collection. Notes: Only two of Joe and Flore nce's grandchildren survive today (2023) - Bill King and Laurie Spackman's mother, Sylvia Pinard of Lebanon, NH. They are first c ousins. No doubt, some may wond er how Mom, Dad, Six daughters and section crew boarders all fit inside this modestly sized dwelling? Imagine the housekeeping chore with coal burning monsters passing within a few feet, several times a day. This editor has no answer except that life and expectations are now vastly different than 100+ years ago. The Monahan family - 1915 Back Row: Ethel, Agatha, Florence, Joe Front Row: Hazel, Alyce, Dot and Gertrude Th e Monahan "Super-six". Gertrude, Ethel, Hazel, Aly ce , Doris and Agatha These are four of the Monahan's Grandchildren The first four Monahan Grandchildren: Left: Shirley and Bill King (Dot and Pete's children) Right: Eleanor and Joanne Pinard (Gertrude and Horace's children) kingpeter kingdot monahanGert Allen PLEASE NOTE; THIS WEBSITE IS OPTIMIZED FOR TABLET OR LAPTOPS, Content may be jumbled on a small phone screen...Sorry. Back Row: Eleanor Pinard, Hazel, Florence, Joe and unknown. Middle Row: Joanne Pinard, Gertrude Pinard, Ethel and Alyce. Front/crouching: Doris King, Shirley King and Agatha. Hazel has her arm around Eleanor (Florence's oldest granddaughter/Hazel's niece/Gert's oldest daughter) G ert is holding her daughter Joanne. Dot is holding her daughter Shirley. Below are Dick and Brother Joe Monahan at the Willey Residence. Undated photo courtesy of Bill King. Agatha Monahan Wallace (near age 100? not sure.) She died only 2 days shy of her 103rd birthday on December 31, 2016. The Youngest Daughter, Agatha, wrote her memories of "Happ enings Growing Up By The Railroad Tracks at Willey House" NOTE TO READER: Agatha w as 88 years old when she penned these words in 2001. The story has been typed for ease of reading. I have taken this from 13 1/2 pages of memories hand -written by Agatha “Babe” Monahan (then Wallace). I have stayed true to her spelling and grammar. I cannot vouch for the accuracy of these memories; she lived them and this is a record of her memories and hers alone. Laurie Hammond Spackman - granddaughter of “Babe’s” eldest sister, Gertrude Willey House Station and flag stop through the years in various states of condition StoryAgtha Willey House Station also housed the post office and telegraph for Harts Location. Their first early morning Presidential election was held here at 7:a.m. November 2, 1948 The first early morning Presidential election vote for Hart's Location was held here at 7:a.m. November 2, 1948. Left to right, Mrs Macomber, Town Clerk, Douglas Macomber, Joseph Burke, Preston King, Alice Burke and son Merle, Mrs Morey and George Morey. . Willey House Station in its final years. By 1984, when these pictures were taken, it had declined to an irrecoverable condition. The railroad burned the building in 1988. A visitor today might still find the concrete foundation walls and bits of iron stuff laying about. The kitchen cook stove was "off in the woods" the last time I was there in 2004. But, since folks can rarely just leave stuff alone, it's probably gone by now. ("now" being 2019) The Foremans cottage The Foremans Cottage was located on the big curve that was built of granite blocks on the side of Mt. Willard. James Mitchell, his family and section men were the only inhabitants of this dwelling. It was located at Mile Post 84 just about 1/4 mile west of the Mt.Willard Dwelling. Mr. and Mrs. Mitchells "cottage" was built under the cliffs of Mt. Willard and on occasion, rock slides came through the house. The P&O tried to solve the rock problem by chaining some rock together. Thus the area became known as "Chained Rock". In 1887 after a horrifying night of rock slides, thunder, and lighting, Mr. Mitchell tenured his resignation. The famed Mt. Willard dwelling was built for The Mitchell's so Mr. Mitchell would stay on. He accepted the offer and did not retire until 1899. In 1887 Mr & Mrs Mitchell, two sons and a daughter moved into the Mt Willard House. The "Foremans Cottage " was torn down in 1888. The Foremans Cottage in 1875 with James Mitchell and his wife. Mt Willard Section House Mt Willard @ 83.5(Maine Central) 1888-1898- James Mitchell 1898-1903-Joe Monahan family 1903-1941- Loring Evans Family 1944-1950-O. Douglas Macomber 1951-1952-Quervis Strout 1954-1962-Thomas Sweeney 1963-1965-Wellman Rowell Closed 1965 Burned by the Railroad 1972 Mitchell Dwelling @ mile 84.0 (P & O) 1875-1888 James Mitchell ** If anyone can offer corrections to the dates and people listed, it would be of great help. All the names and dates above were taken by Scotty Mallett from the book “Harts Location” by Marion Varney Mt Willard Section House with Hattie Evans and her children. Perhaps 1920. Their homestead was actually a cheerier place than this photo might suggest. Additional photos are up at the top of this page. One of Our Newsletters includes a detailed article about the Evans Family. You can find it here, on page 6 Editors Note: Complete biographies of all the folks mentioned in this article can be found at Marion L. Varney's book, "Hart's Location in Crawford Notch" - 1997 fireWillard On August 17, 1888 the Portland and Ogdensburg Railroad was leased to the Maine Central Railroad for 999 years. Included in the lease were all section Houses, Stations, Locomotives and Rolling stock as well as personnel. I thought you might be interested in the value assigned to the buildings and furnishings from Intervale thru Crawford Notch. Remember, these are 1888 prices and 1888 spelling! Intervale Passenger Station $100 Desk, Chair and Baggage Truck $30 Glen Station Passenger Station and Freight House $500 Assorted Furniture $75 Bartlett Station $1000 Freight House $150 Engine House (6 pits) $1000 Repair Shop $100 Woodshed $100 Tank House $200 Furniture, Stoves, desks, Freight truck, Passenger Truck $100 Coal Derrick $50 Sawyer’s River Station Building $75 Bemis Brook Section House $400 Avalanche Section House $400 Tank House $200 Moor’s Brook (spelled Moor’s) Old Section House $300 Mt. Willard Section House $4000 Furniture, 1 room $50 Crawfords Station $100 Ticket case, Desk, Stove and Baggage Barrow $55 Total Intervale to Crawfords $9,385 The lease of the P&O was cancelled some 50 years later when the Maine Central bought the remaining shares. Editors note: If this $9385 was adjusted for inflation the amount would be $260,000 in 2018 dollars. 1966: "Helper" engines on the Frankenstein Trestle, probably returning to Bartlett Station. Source Material: Life by the Tracks, Virginia C. Downs - 1983 Hart's Location in Crawford Notch, Marion L. Varney - 1997 Some Photos on this page, and elsewhere on this web-site, are part of the Raymond W. Evans collection now owned by Robert Girouard. We extend our gratitude for his permission to use them as part of this and other stories. - - Dave Crawford Station: February 22, 1910 1895 Railroad Division Roster
- Wreck of the 380 | bartletthistory
Wreck of the 380 Frank Washburn Related: Mallett 1202 Story Locomotive #380 Wreck West of Bemis Crossing, August 1922. The engine in the picture is Locomotive #380. The Mallett 1202 was following about ten minutes behind as they had both been on a "helper run" assisting a train through the Notch. #380 was built in 1908 and was a class O-2, 4-6-0 wheel arrangement Scotty Mallett tells us, "That's Frank Washburn's wreck. It happened in august of 1922 when the tender brake beam failed, the locomotive jackknifed and flipped over. Mr Washburn was taken to the hospital with a sprained ankle and some bruises. Nothing is mentioned about how the fireman ended up, it could be he had no injury's " Bemis is the area near Madam Morey's Inn Unique , Today's Notchland Inn . The photographs were sent to us by Richard Garon , who's grandfather was a Stationmaster in Bartlett during the 1920's. Rick didn't know much about the pictures, but Scotty Mallett, who is our railroad history expert, identified all the photos and provided a little story. Some Photos on this page, and elsewhere on this web-site, are part of the Raymond W. Evans collection now owned by Robert Girouard. We extend our gratitude for his permission to use them as part of this and other stories. - - Dave
- Railroad beginnings
Railroad History Scotty Mallett is working on this section Please check the menu at top left for more pages. More Railroad Pages - Menu Top Right... The Portland & Ogdensburg Railroad was chartered on February 11, 1867 to run from Portland to Fabyan, a junction at Carroll, New Hampshire in the White Mountains, where the Boston, Concord & Montreal Railroad would continue west. The tracks reached Bartlett Village in 1873. Their track joined in a ceremony at the summit of Crawford Notch on August 7, 1875, then opened on August 16, 1875. The P&O Railroad Tames Crawford Notch After reaching Bartlett in 1873 the P&O Railroad faced the arduous task of building the rail line through Crawford Notch to Fabyan. It took two years to build that section of less than 20 miles. Our friends at White Mountain History have compiled a very good story and pictures of the challenges facing the railroad builders. White Mountain History - P&O Railroad Bartlett to Fabyan Frankenstein Trestle Wiley Brook Bridge Part of a P&O brochure in 1879 advertising their scenic journey through The White Mountains Notch.